#sol15: March 1, 2015 – The View

download-5

Join the March SOLSC at Two Writing Teachers!

IMG_2694

The view from the top of our street is a spectacular one, from it you can see over the expanse of our town and all the way to Manhattan.  I love it, of course, for its grandeur, which is ever-changing with the season and the light.  But I love it most because, for the few minutes our dog Sophie and I pause there every time we take a walk, I feel as though I have my children within sight. The bell tower of our high school peeks through tree tops, the  edge of our town pool glimmers off to one side, and then there are the skyscrapers of Manhattan – uptown, midtown, downtown.

When the children were still at home, I would look out and imagine them in school – at their desks, in their labs, practicing for the latest theatrical venture or choir recital.

For one very special year, when Elizabeth began her graduate studies in Manhattan and both Ben and Olivia were still in school, I could imagine all three busy with this, that or the other as I gazed across the view.

Now, two of them live in the city, and the view remains a place to come to a halt, and to allow myself to think of what they may be doing.  In my mind’s eye, I can see Elizabeth hurrying to a meeting, discovering a new bookstore, or sunning herself in Central Park.   And there is Ben, I can see him catching the subway to his classes, joining friends to play guitar, ducking into a building to escape a sudden downpour.

I love the view…and the idea that, for just a few minutes every day, my children are still somehow within sight.

43 thoughts on “#sol15: March 1, 2015 – The View

  1. A perfectly captured view in words. All of our kids are still here at home, but the days on the horizon of the house slowly emptying of kids is not all that far away. I hope I have the view, too. These are the days to see it, remember it, tuck it away.
    Kevin

  2. Oh, I love this! Such a beautiful view and such a beautiful way you contemplate it each day. Also, I had no idea you were so close to Manhattan!

    Looking forward to catching up with your blog this month.
    — Stacie

  3. Beautiful post! My children are little right now and swirling around me, demanding my attention at every moment but I can only imagine what it will be like when they are off on their own. I love that your view from on high gives you the sense that they are still right there, safely in your sights.

  4. Oh Tara, your post is that of a mother from afar; that wonderful, sad, happy, special moment when our kids take control of their lives and let us watch them from afar. I sometimes look at the weather app on my phone imagining what is happening in Glen Rock or Suffern at that moment !!!!

  5. My kids are still little and at home, but I kept thinking of how nice it is to know what your children would be choosing out in the world. I loved the image of Elizabeth finding a bookstore and Ben playing guitar. I miss NYC. I was born there and lived there until I went to high school and we moved to Maine. It is the place of my heart.

  6. This is so beautiful. As the mother of two grown boys that live a continents breadth away I can so identify with this. I remember having a little peekaboo view of The Pacific Ocean. As a then overwhelmed, newly-single mother with two children in car seats in the backseat of my old Volvo, that patch of restful blue was such a respite. These touchstone places are so important in our lives.

  7. Tara,
    You are such a great role model: author, mother, teacher, thinker . . . My favorite line is “I love it, of course, for its grandeur, which is ever-changing with the season and the light.”
    You include both the present – what you see- and your own Imaginings! So very eloquently! THANKS!

  8. Lovely thoughts and of course you know I wrote about a view, too. Our children remain in our hearts always, don’t they? Happy Slicing Tara. Hope we’ll connect somehow this year!

  9. What a view, and if I adjust my binoculars a little, this same view will be slowing coming into focus for me. My children are close to this horizon , but I will not adjust the lens just yet.

  10. It’s nice to know that you can “look in on your kids” — they are just up the street! I have one not living at home, but she’s in town, and the other two keep talking about when they leave. Keep in touch with the family — it’s important! So glad you can do that!

  11. Beautiful imagery! I look out my window in the mornings and wonder if my daughter has a bright sunny day or is it rainy and cloudy where she lives. Our children are our connection.

  12. I can relate to your ending that somehow your children are within sight for just a brief moment. Our children grow up and move on and we embrace their success but every day they are part of our lives.

  13. Oh, Tara. This Slice brought tears to my eyes. You know my girls are only 3 and 5, but I get this. The mother in my 100%, totally gets this. It’s so beautiful.

    Do you mind if I use this for one of my “Be Inspired” posts later this month when I’m hosting? Please shoot me an email if it is okay.

  14. Your words are lovely, Tara. And they speak to the heart of this mother who thinks often about her grown children. I am so glad to be connecting to you again and to others within this blog site.

  15. What a beautiful way to start the month! I love your view and all that it means to you. I feel so much energy happening in the slices today. I wish every day were Sunday and I could just read posts.

  16. Thes phot is gorgeous. I can imagine you looking at the view and seeing your kids in NYC. You have created a beautiful picture.

  17. This is a beautiful piece. I can imagine every mother wants the ability to look down at her children every morning– whether lying in their beds in the house, or far down below in the streets of Manhattan. Can’t wait to see what’s in store for the next 30 days!

  18. Wow, reminds me of Frost stopping by the woods, so rich in images, reflection, and perspective. There is a poem here, I think. You take the same walk, the view is still powerful, but much has changed. Wow.

  19. wow, that is so gorgeous! I miss the snow – it usually comes to us here in Oregon, but it hasn’t and I don’t think it will this year. Glad to see the beauty on your blog, thanks for that!

  20. Oh, Tara…. I love your writing, but it makes me cry! My son is 19, and in his first year of college. He decided to stay at home for this first year and go to a small local school. He’s done so well, and I’m so proud of him– and while he’s hardly ever home, I know he’s still here. In August, John will go to university 2 1/2 hours away. It isn’t that far, but I couldn’t see it from a hill (even if we had one in the South Carolina Lowcountry). Of course this is what is best for him, and I’m glad that he’s able to go, but I’m struggling with/ dreading the change right now. Time does fly…. Thanks for your insight.

  21. Tara- this is such a beautiful metaphor. You really capture motherhood- how our kids are never out of our hearts or our mother eyes. A gorgeous piece of writing!

  22. Pingback: Day 23 of the March SOLSC! #SOL15 | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

  23. Your piece is so beautiful and moving. On the verge of an empty nest myself, I love the idea that you could stop each day with that view to consider what each of your children is doing. You captured the intensity of mother love in your piece and the link between you and your children is tangible–even if they move outside of the range of your view. Thanks for sharing.

  24. Tara, thank you for capturing your thoughts within that view. This is a timely piece for me because my daughter lives so far away, Washington, DC and I don’t have time with her like I did when she was home. I think I will capture her in my mind as you do to make me smile.

  25. This is beautiful! My kids are still little….. and I don’t have a view like this… but sometimes in the middle of the day, I just pause and think and picture them…

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

