#sol15: March 6, 2015: Poetry Friday and Hurry,hurry,hurry…

download-5 Join the March SOLSC at Two Writing Teachers!

download (3)

Poetry Friday round-up is hosted this week by Robyn Campbell.

When the snow stops, and the driveways and pathways have been cleared, the rush begins to prepare for the day ahead: back to school, back to work, back to the hustle and bustle of getting ready for the new day ahead.

At the store, I see young families racing up and down the aisles picking up supplies they seem not to have for the day ahead.  Didn’t I see some of them doing the same thing the day before the storm?

Rush, rush, rush.

Let’s go!

Come on!

So, for this Poetry Friday, here’s a poem that manages to put it all in proper perspective.

Hurry by Marie Howe

We stop at the dry cleaners and the grocery store
and the gas station and the green market and
Hurry up honey, I say, hurry,
as she runs along two or three steps behind me
her blue jacket unzipped and her socks rolled down.
Where do I want her to hurry to? To her grave?
To mine? Where one day she might stand all grown?
Today, when all the errands are finally done, I say to her,
Honey I’m sorry I keep saying Hurry—
you walk ahead of me. You be the mother.
And, Hurry up, she says, over her shoulder, looking
back at me, laughing. Hurry up now darling, she says,
hurry, hurry, taking the house keys from my hands.
26 thoughts on “#sol15: March 6, 2015: Poetry Friday and Hurry,hurry,hurry…

  1. I always catch myself telling my children to hurry, and more and more often I’m trying to ask myself exactly this: Hurry to where? Why am I in such a hurry? Is it worth it to go to school on time and mad at each to her? I say no. I’d rather be 5 minutes late and know what all of us had a morning full of love. Thanks for the poem.

  2. After the dig out from the cocoon of the snow, life picks back up at the frantic pace. This poem makes us stop in our tracks to evaluate the purpose of the hurry, then life can slow down . . . until we forget.

  3. We had a half day yesterday, & students have the day off today so we teachers can write those units for them, so yesterday it was hurry, hurry, get those assignments in. I’ve seen this before, need to hang it by my computer so I can STOP, & not hurry, but REST & savor. Thanks for the reminder, Tara.

  4. I talk about this all the time. This hurry up era is bad for all of us. Sometimes I just want to say no to hurry up. This weekend I vowed to my kids that we would take as long as we wanted on whatever we wanted…except (I was noted to say) in regard to television.

  5. In the fast pace world in which we live it seems like everyone wants everything done yesterday. Your poem is a reminder to us all that we need to slow down.

  6. This poem is making me grateful for snow days all the more! Absolutely no hurrying today! Thanks for posting this.

  7. It’s such a challenge to slow down and take a breath when there are so many demands placed on us. This poem is such an eloquent reminder of how important it is to just be. Thank you for sharing this today, Tara.

  8. I love this! And it reminded me of the Dr. Seuss song:
    Two legs, four legs, six legs, eight.
    We’ve all got to hurry, or we’ll all be late.
    Hurry, hurry, hurry, or we’ll all be late,
    with our our two legs, four legs, six legs, eight.
    But when you hurry fast,
    you begin to huff and blow,
    and your legs won’t last,
    so you’d better hurry slow.
    So let’s hurry slow,
    yes, that’s what we’ll do,
    with our eight legs, six legs, four legs, two.

    🙂

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

