#sol15: March 17, 2015 – Massacre in the laundry room

It’s 5 a.m. and time to get out of bed and make the long, cold trek downstairs in the still-dark house to fix the coffee tray.   I take a deep breath, and prepare for the carnage I know I must face.

It begins as soon as I take one step…the first victim.   And then, by the bedroom door, lies the next one – limp, lifeless, curled into a listless ball.

I take a deep breath and prepare for the worst, and there they are: a long line – sorry casualties of the night, stretched down the staircase all the way down to the kitchen.

Socks-On-The-Floor-Susan-French

A puddle of prey lie tangled by the refrigerator, and another motionless wretch dangles from the basement stair…

…massacre in the laundry room, again….

oscar-cat-600x450

 

26 thoughts on “#sol15: March 17, 2015 – Massacre in the laundry room

  1. It’s funny how “busy” the cats are at night! In my house, I find things knocked off counters and batted around the house (the same counters that I never see them on during the day!). It sounds like your kitty is enjoying the nights!

  2. The picture looks so much like my Molly. Love the picture your words paint. I’m sure s/he was just trying to be helpful. Maybe sorting the clothes? Bringing them up so you wouldn’t have far to carry them? Guess it is better than coming out and finding a dead rodent brought as a present.

  3. Love how you wrote this piece – wonderful craft! Also LOVE how you change your picture with the seasons. Do you take the photographs? They are beautiful. You could do a photoessay with them or other photos.
    Clare

  4. Wow, I was not expecting that innocent, sweet kitten to be the cause of the “carnage” you knew you had face. Very clever! Loved the incorporation of such seemingly harmless photographs with the extreme, horror-themed writing.

  5. Hee-hee-hee! I saw the picture of the rascally perpetrator before I read the words, so I knew exactly where this was headed. Still a humorous tale, wonderfully told.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

