#sol15: March 27, 2015: Poetry Friday with Mary Oliver – “I Happened to be Standing”

download (3)      download (5)

Poetry Friday is hosted by Jone at Check It Out

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Two Writing Teachers

So much going on in March, that it is difficult to just sit still, be centered, and allow the mind to wander and to wonder. Yesterday at lunch, I gave myself the gift of listening to Krista Tippett’s interview with Mary Oliver, which included ar reading of one of her new poems:

“I Happened to Be Standing” – Mary Oliver

I don’t know where prayers go,
or what they do.
Do cats pray, while they sleep
half-asleep in the sun?
Does the opossum pray as it
crosses the street?
The sunflowers? The old black oak
growing older every year?
I know I can walk through the world,
along the shore or under the trees,
with my mind filled with things
of little importance, in full
self-attendance. A condition I can’t really
call being alive
Is a prayer a gift, or a petition,
or does it matter?
The sunflowers blaze, maybe that’s their way.
Maybe the cats are sound asleep. Maybe not. (you can read the rest of the poem here.)

and listen to it here: http://bit.ly/1vuwjdA

How wonderful to be able to greet each morning as a kind of prayer!

15 thoughts on “#sol15: March 27, 2015: Poetry Friday with Mary Oliver – “I Happened to be Standing”

  1. Thanks for this poem. How wonderful that you can click to so much… Hope you have a great time tomorrow. I was hoping to join you, but instead I’m off to a writing retreat over night with the HVWP. Both of us will have lots of inspiration to share in our last of March’s slices.

  2. I think I’ve listened to that interview 4 times and each time I hear something new. As Margaret and Holly said, Mary Oliver must have been in the air this week, as I was inspired by a passage from her book, A Poetry Handbook. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

