#sol15: March 31, 2015 – We made it!!

Well, here it is, March 31st.   I’ll admit, that there were days when I’d glance at the calendar and despair – so many more days, what am I going to say? what do I have to write about? will I make it?  Of course, I knew that there were many slicers who felt the exact same way as I did, and yet, when I logged on to Two Writing Teachers, there they were.  And that was motivation enough to get going on a post, to write.

So, here it is, March 31st.  I’ll also admit that there is a part of me that will miss this daily connection with so many writers.  We come from all over the place, and most of us have not had the chance to meet face to face, and yet I feel such a bond with all of those whose blogs I have read every day. Writing gives us so many pathways to learning about each other, and supporting in each other.  I’ve been so moved to tears so many times by the open honesty of some slices, and have laughed out loud at the hilarity in others.  I’ve learned about hobbies and children, pets and dear friends, new books to read and places to travel.

Our community of writers enriches my life.

We, at Two Writing Teachers, believe that we must practice what we teach. Writing is hard work, but it  thrives when practiced and nourished.  It is easier to practice when one is a part of a community like this.  When all of us, no matter how busy and distracted and pulled a hundred different ways by work and family commitments, take the time to read and comment on each others’ efforts, and support each others’ commitment to grow our writing craft.  We benefit, and our students benefit.

And here it is, March 31st. The last slice of the March Challenge. Here’s to all of us!

Confetti

24 thoughts on “#sol15: March 31, 2015 – We made it!!

  1. Three cheers for THIRTY-ONE SLICES in the month of March! I was nodding my head as I read this post–I struggled sometimes to find something to slice but I know I will miss this challenge once it is over, and the community I felt each day. Hoping to make Tuesday slices a part of my writing routine so I can keep it alive for myself, and thrilled to have found so many new writers to follow!

  2. Tara, your words say it all. With 31 days of slicing, 20 days of participating in the MarCH Forward Poetry Challenge, Spiritual Journey Thursday, Poetry Friday posts I am a bit exhausted but elated all the same. It has been a journey that I will never forget. Thank you for all of your rah rah support!

  3. Tomorrow will feel empty, no words to gather for others to read, no posts to read. But I will also breathe a sigh of relief, now I have time to return to my daily life before the challenge. So let’s celebrate this wonderful community of writers!

  4. Such a special month! I’m sorry to see it end. I know you will be traveling soon, but maybe you can join our poetry celebration when you return. #DigiPoetry. Trying to keep the community alive.

  5. Your words are so perfect! I am so glad that I get to read them. Have a wonderful trip and as always I look forward to reading more from you. I am throwing confetti in the air, too! 🙂

  6. I will miss the daily community too. There’s nothing like it!! I often wonder if I would appreciate it as much if it lasted longer, or if the limit of the month creates the longing!! See you on Tuesdays!!!

  7. Your reflective slice sums the month up so comprehensively Tara. I concur with all you have written here. I particularly noted the part where you wrote:
    “Writing is hard work, but it thrives when practiced and nourished. It is easier to practice when one is a part of a community like this.”
    That for me, is a most powerful statement. It possesses honesty about the writing life. Thank you for your valued contributions and responses over time, not just this month.

  8. Writing does thrive when practiced and nourished and I thank the six of you at TWT for creating this space to do just that. Thank you for regularly stopping by my blog to read my words. Here’s to Tuesdays!

  9. Yay!! I’ll admit- it was a little bit weird to not have to carve out my 20 minutes of writing time yesterday. I felt like part of my day was missing. Already can’t wait until next year!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

