#CelebrateLu: School days end and summer begins

celebrate-link-up

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

This week I celebrate the end of another amazing school year. I always gather my kids together in the last five minutes of the very last day for what has come to be known as “the speech”, in which I thank my kids for taking the sixth grade journey with me as their guide, and for their trust in my judgement as their teacher, and their mentor.  I was so proud of their willingness to work hard and challenge themselves, the best proof of which was our end of the year writing celebration.  I arrive at school every day with a passion to teach, but it’s my kids and their willing spirits that allows for the real magic to happen.  This year, due to all sorts of nonsense not of my own making and not in my power to fix, I seriously considered stepping down from my job and taking my career in education in another direction.  But, the kids brought me back to my senses – I belong in a classroom, teaching children, and helping to shape their lives. Our end of year celebration was a time to rededicate myself to what I love.

end of yearToday, I celebrate Father’s Day and the Dad in our house.  Scott is, by far, the best human being I have ever known.  Our kids have grown up with his example of living a life based on values and priorities that count, kindness and empathy, and the gift of music. We are all blessed to live with and know him.

FullSizeRender (6)

With Elizabeth

FullSizeRender (4)

With Ben

FullSizeRender (5)

With Olivia

I celebrate closing at the end of this week on our farm, a place we love and hope to be a gathering place for our family and friends.  Scott and I began thinking about taking this step some years ago, and now that it is becoming a reality, we are beside ourselves with happiness and excitement.

IMG_1428

 

Finally, I celebrate the beginning of summer. It’s been a long year…and I am ready to spend my weeks painting and sprucing up a beautiful old farmhouse and gazing out a this view:

IMG_1424

11 thoughts on “#CelebrateLu: School days end and summer begins

  1. Oh Tara! I can completely understand the struggle with this work. I felt the same struggle and like you, it was my kids, my students who reminded me day after day, why I am here. Congratulations on completing the year! Your new home looks like it’s out of a dream!! I can’t wait to watch your journey making this farm your home. 🙂

  2. Tara, I love the idea of the “speech” in the final moments of a long year. I am glad that your passion for teaching has brought you back to repurpose your journey. Talking about journeys, the farmhouse looks like a storybook place. Enjoy the time to relax and reflect.

  3. A happy closing is the best kind. I know the feeling about education but I keep coming back to knowing it is my joy. That farm, that barn! I wish you a wonderful summer.

  4. Your students are so blessed to have you as their teacher. Love the pictures of Scott. I want to meet him some day.

  5. So glad to hear your school year ended on a positive note. As Margaret said, your students are blessed to have you as a teacher, and I feel blessed to have you as a friend I am constantly learning from. Sorry to have missed you this evening. Hope you all had a wonderful visit. Maybe later this summer?

  6. So much love in this post! I’m glad you are there for the journey with your sixth graders. The work you do is so valuable. Here’s to a restorative summer!

  7. So glad you decided to stick around for the students. My heart would be sad to not be able to pop into your classroom through your blog posts. Love the pics of your husband and kids. And that view – breathtaking! Happy Summer!

  8. What a beautiful moment with your students!
    Lovely and strong words about your husband!
    Exciting days ahead in your new home! …I’m trying not to be jealous! Wink! What a dream come true! It looks and sounds heavenly.

  9. Some seasons of life are just plain hard but there is reward in perseverance. What a lovely tribute to Scott! So thankful a new round of Smithlings will be able to learn from you. 🙂

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

