#CelebrateLu: A great July…

celebrate-link-up

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

The first day of August!  The last time I participated in the Celebrate community, it was the first day of July and I was celebrating the start of summer…and now that August is here, even though it’s still officially summer, I’m beginning to let my thoughts drift towards this place, my school (my classroom is on the second floor, the middle window):

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 9.16.28 PM

But, before I bid goodbye to July, here’s what I want to celebrate about this July:

bedlam 2

Moving to the farm on a rainy 4th.of July weekend with the entire family there to pack up the truck, unload the truck, unpack our “stuff”, and help us settle in.  That first weekend, the kids lined up their air mattresses on the living room floor and had a sleepover party that lasted until the early morning.  I will never forget coming downstairs in the morning and seeing their gently sleeping bodies in a cozy row – just like the old days.  So, I celebrate a summer of sleepovers with whichever of the children who happened to be there together.  This is what we had hoped for when we bought the farm: a place to gather and have times like the “old times”.

July was a mad cap busy month – painting, cleaning, weeding, from dawn to dusk.  Now, it feels wonderful to wander from room to room and see how this house has become our home.  So I celebrate the fact that all the “sweat equity” (in the words of my lawyer husband) of July has yielded a lovely place for us to enjoy, even though my back and knees will take some time to recover!

Even so, July was a month of learning to be still and in the moment.  Every time I looked up from weeding or painting to take in the sweeping views on all sides of our farm, I learned to be still and enjoy the moment.  On many an afternoon, or evening, when there were no other sounds save for valley breezes and every variety of songbird, I learned to cultivate the habit of being still and in the moment.  And on hushed nights, when there was only moonlight and stars to illuminate the front porch, I sat still and in the moment.  I am a restless person, so I celebrate what July taught me.

July was a month of reading and thinking about how to write about reading, thanks to the inspirational group  of #WabtR educators.  I have learned so much from all they have shared, and I feel, once again, so blessed to have such a generous and thoughtful fellowship with which to learn … even in the summer.

And, in the same spirit of learning and giving, there was the #CyberPD15 group with which I read this year’s book – Digital Reading: What’s Essential in Grades 3-8 by Franki Sibberson and Bill Bass.  I loved the way this group shared their reflections about this important book – this helped me figure out how I would/could change my own approaches to digital literacy.  It was powerful groupthink.

So, thank you, July – I celebrate all that came into my life last month, and feel all the better for each and every one of those experiences.

10 thoughts on “#CelebrateLu: A great July…

  1. What a busy month. I love that image of your kiddos on the air mattresses in a cozy row! And the way you describe your still moments in contrast to your busy month. I think I want to check in with the group #WabtR. Are your discussions archived? Hope your have an enjoyable, slow transition back to school.

  2. “Moving to the farm” what an idea, what an adventure. I’m envious of those sleeping children, learning to be still, even that aching back and knees. There is something about physical labor (sweat equity) that connects one to a home. So happy for you Tara! And honored to think alongside you in reading.

  3. I love hearing about how the farm is teaching you to slow down. I feel that way about the bayou. Sometimes I just sit and watch and listen. Sometimes it’s necessary.

  4. Tara, life is good when we slow down, live in the moment, and listen. I love the fact that your farm is a place to gather and have times like the “old times”. It is important to preserve the bonds of family. Enjoy the farm and all it brings.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

