Slice of Life Tuesday: It takes time…

Juileanne’s slice about going slower and noticing has been rattling around in my head ever since I read it early this morning.  Perhaps this is because I am in the same place with my kids.  I know that I ought to have a SWBAT posted on the board, we are, after all, in the second week of school, and I have yet to pass out the sixth grade workbooks and text books.  We are taking it slow…

It takes time to knit together a learning community based on mutual respect and affection…

It takes time to invite children to listen with their ears and their hearts…

It takes time to read between the lines of what kids say and what they really feel…

It takes time to decipher their quiet cues, the way their gaze shifts when they think, the sparkle of joy or shadow of sadness in their eyes as they listen to a story…

It takes time to learn that their learning begins with questions, and that it takes bravery to name those questions…

It takes time to feel at ease with ambiguity and not knowing as the start to learning something new…

It takes time to listen to a child read, and really hear how the words and the story are weaving its way through her brain and her heart…

It takes time to let the magic of a story sit in the silence of a thinking classroom…

It takes time to feel brave enough to ask, “why?”, “what if?”, “why not?”…

It takes time to feel brave enough to say, “I need help”…

So…here we are in week two, taking our time, savoring the pace, and learning what we need to know first.

17 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: It takes time…

  1. This is such a good reminder to go slowly, establishing a community…slowly while the seeds of learning are planting….In the CCS world of high pressure and accountability, it is easy to forget what our learners need.

  2. All good things take time. I have always found that when I rush into things or rushed my students along I didn’t get the best quality work. Take the time you need and give your students the time they need to develop a wonderful learning community.

  3. Wiser words were never spoken, Tara. It does take time, and you’re smart to recognize that and not fall prey to the need to ‘cover.’ I like how being brave keeps popping up in your room this year. 🙂

  4. Wise and thought-filled, Tara. Your words might well be posted in every classroom. It not only touches the students’ feelings in what they need, but gives a boost to the teachers too.

  5. I love how the vibes in cyberspace (or at least Slices of Life) connect. You and Julianne are honoring the slow pace of getting to know your students as they get to know you.

  6. I appreciate this mindset since I always feel so pressured to move quickly and stay on pace with the curriculum map. I often regret that frantic look on my face when I feel we are getting behind. This year I am promising myself and my students that we will take our time! Thinking is time consuming!

  7. So true!! And I too took time on this, my day one.
    I also played the brave video you shared!!
    I played it just before it was our class time to go down the slide as I was a little nervous to go!!
    And after reading Each Kindness.
    My mantra is going to be Be kind – Be brave – and take out time!!
    Thanks for helping me knowfrom afar have a great day one of school!!

  8. So True Tara. It does take time for all those things you listed. We do a disservice when we try to go by the “test is everything” – but what a blessing when we recognize what our students need. Have a wonderful year!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

