Celebrate This Week: Learning, friendship, farm gifts

celebrate-link-up

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

First, I have to celebrate the learning in 202, and my fabulous group of sixth graders.  This week, we brought all our research about the Constitutional Convention of 1787 together and created newspapers.  Project based learning always takes more time, but I know that it’s a worthy endeavor when I hear my kids discussing the events they reported upon with confidence and interest.

IMG_3311

Next, I celebrate #5bookFriday, which has become a wonderful tradition in 202.  My kids sign up to book talk, and this becomes an event to both aspire to share as well as get excited about listening to.  It’s so much better when students hear about great books from each other – they are empowered readers!

Preset Style = Natural Format = 6" (Medium) Format Margin = Small Format Border = Sm. Rounded Drawing = #2 Pencil Drawing Weight = Medium Drawing Detail = Medium Paint = Natural Paint Lightness = Normal Paint Intensity = Normal Water = Tap Water Water Edges = Medium Water Bleed = Average Brush = Natural Detail Brush Focus = Everything Brush Spacing = Narrow Paper = Watercolor Paper Texture = Medium Paper Shading = Light Options Faces = Enhance FacesPreset Style = Natural Format = 6" (Medium) Format Margin = Small Format Border = Sm. Rounded Drawing = #2 Pencil Drawing Weight = Medium Drawing Detail = Medium Paint = Natural Paint Lightness = Normal Paint Intensity = Normal Water = Tap Water Water Edges = Medium Water Bleed = Average Brush = Natural Detail Brush Focus = Everything Brush Spacing = Narrow Paper = Watercolor Paper Texture = Medium Paper Shading = Light Options Faces = Enhance Faces

Neither Allison Jackson not I were able to make it to NCTE 15, but thanks to thoughtful friends (Fran McVeigh and Ryan Scala!), we felt included in this most kind and unexpected way:

Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 4.34.43 PMFran and Ryan

So, I celebrate friends like these!

Twitter allowed me to stay connected to all the great learning that was going on in Minneapolis, however.  Again, I am so grateful to generous colleagues who share their notes and the wise words of those we trust to bring us new and inspiring ideas with which to teach. I celebrate my fellow educators, who “get” this essential idea:

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 11.13.07 AM

Finally, I celebrate the last of our town’s farmer’s market.  It’s been a wonderful Sunday tradition to spend some time admiring the fruits and vegetables stacked in a glorious array of jeweled, joyful plenty.  Today, we bid the farmer, bakers, and honey makers goodbye until next Spring:

IMG_3343 IMG_3344

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Celebrate This Week: Learning, friendship, farm gifts

  1. Yep, our final farmer’s market was last week, at least the one I go to. I will miss the wonderful array of colors and good food! I hope you’ll get to the farm for Thanksgiving, assuming you will, and wishing you a lovely restful and thank-filled time.Love hearing about the book talks. You are so right, hearing about those books from peers is powerfully persuasive!

  2. Your Farmer’s Market still had a lot of root vegetables for sale this late in November. Ours closed up before Halloween. I love the stark beauty of winter but I miss the variety of vegetables offered at those markets.

  3. Love the array of jeweled, joyful plenty! Such gorgeous colors. Do you have a specific format your students use for book talks? I would love to get going with book talks in after school book club after the Newbery awards are announced. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! No Libby, right? But hopefully, she’ll be home for Christmas.

  4. I like your idea of 5 book Friday. Your farmer’s market photo is so bright and cheerful. It’s sad to see them end each year, but it gives us even more reason to look forward to spring.

  5. It sounds like a good week Tara. I’m intrigued by your Friday book chat routine. Might try that with my 4th graders- we’ve been more haphazard with ours. But we’ve been doing #IMWAYR and they post titles and love that routine. I see them looking back at old charts for ideas. Yes- the farmers markets around here are mostly gone too. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

  6. Tara, NCTE and farm gifts roll into one huge gratitude fest. I will be traveling to Syracuse to celebrate the holiday. One of the great celebratory acts that my family engages in is the Farmer’s Market on Saturday. In the crisp, cool air we travel from booth to booth, sampling wares and choosing just right gifts from the farm. Still feeling the effects of jet lag from traveling home from NCTE, I am here ready to make the next trip so that family can celebrate together.
    I love hearing about the opportunities you provide for you students to celebrate their academic joys and discoveries.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

