Slice of Life Tuesday: Thank you,Scrabble!

For Thanksgiving, we finally broke down and bought a new Scrabble set, the old one having been chewed up and shredded by the four legged members of our family.  It felt strange to gather around a sparkling new plastic Scrabble set, and even though I missed the weight and feel of the old wooden tiles,  the old familiar rhythm of the game took over.

And, for the rest of the weekend, our Scrabble set sat out in the middle of the living room floor, notebook with scores by its side.  One game merged with another, some fizzled out, and some exploded in glory for someone with a z or a q who was lucky and adept enough to land on a triple word score.  We are a competitive family, especially when it comes to Scrabble, and we hold grudges about chances squelched by family members willing to sacrifice loyalty for points.

We Smiths love Scrabble, but not just because we share a love for words.  We love it, I think, because it’s always given us a chance to talk.  It was around a Scrabble board that I’ve learned from my children about their heartthrobs and their heartbreaks, about what’s going well and what is failing, about their dreams and their worries.  And it was around a Scrabble board that secrets have been spilled, confessions made, and apologies extended.

This Thanksgiving, as I gave thanks for the many blessings that have come our way in the year almost past (and thanks, too,  for managing to come through the not-so-blessings we’ve had to contend with as well), I included this wonderful game.  Thank you, Scrabble!

23 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Thank you,Scrabble!

  1. Another connection!! I too am from a competitive Scrabble playing family that goes back fondly to when I was first dating my now husband! Thanks for giving me the chance to remember!!

  2. My best memories from the holidays often center around group games. In fact, the highlight over Thanksgiving weekend was a rousing game of Taboo. We try to find a new game to play on Christmas Eve each year, but I love the idea of your tradition and am considering placing the Scrabble board front and center for ongoing fun. (By the way, our Scrabble grudges usually center on those who are willing to sacrifice the board in order to maximize their points.)

  3. One more thing we have in common! We take Scrabble on vacation and it’s my favorite game of all time. Memories of playing with my grandmother, my mom and now my children. Thank you for your Slice.

  4. Games have a way of building community at home and in the classroom. I love playing games with my students. I played cards with my niece and nephew over Thanksgiving. I wish we were a Scrabble family. That never did happen.

  5. Tara,
    What a great place for conversations and so much fun when most of the family is present and “talks” to each other. So important to both be present (off electronics for a bit) AND talking! ❤

  6. I am finding the same thing with puzzles. It can always be out and I find my teenagers will take a break from homework and work on the puzzle for a moment or two. It is when we hear the most from them. Being busy with our hands seems to allow a free flow of conversation. I might need to pull out scrabble as well!
    Thanks
    Clare

  7. Our very old set has been moved now a few times with a very droopy box. I fear we may no longer have all the titles. My adult son is coming out for a visit in dreary February. Scrabble by the fire may be the ticket to open conversation with this very private young man.

  8. Thank you, Scrabble, indeed! Some of my best memories these past years are of the generational Scrabble wars – granddaughter, daughter, mom, grandmother — all vying for the title and upholding her generation.

  9. I hate Scrabble but I love yours 🙂
    It was around a Scrabble board that I’ve learned from my children about their heartthrobs and their heartbreaks, about what’s going well and what is failing, about their dreams and their worries. And it was around a Scrabble board that secrets have been spilled, confessions made, and apologies extended.

  10. You have described life around the board perfectly, Tara. I do miss our games even though my husband has a beautiful large board that we always say we are going to use. I think Christimastime would be ideal for those family gatherings.

  11. You brought me into the space with these words…
    “And, for the rest of the weekend, our Scrabble set sat out in the middle of the living room floor, notebook with scores by its side. One game merged with another, some fizzled out, and some exploded in glory for someone with a z or a q who was lucky and adept enough to land on a triple word score.”

    I need to go find my old Scrabble board… Thank you for sharing this moment.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

