Celebrate this week: Back to school

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

Today, as the holidays come to an end and a brand new year is but a day old, I celebrate the thought of returning to my classroom on Monday morning, and greeting my kids again.

I celebrate the idea of doing the little things I do every workday morning: placing a vase of fresh flowers-for-the-week on my desk, watering all our classroom plants, cleaning off each student desk, tidying up the reading area, posting our “plan o’ action” for the week, and taking a deep breath as I hear footsteps thunder up the stairs. They are here…the day begins!

I celebrate being able to see the faces of my kids and hear their voices again. And I celebrate hearing their stories – the holiday stories, the every day stories.

I celebrate being back at a job I love.  I celebrate my luck at being able to wake up everyday and begin the work I love.  I celebrate work which rewards me with appreciation like this:

IMG_3568

A new year begins…our learning lives continue in Room 202. I celebrate that.

15 thoughts on “Celebrate this week: Back to school

  1. I agree with Carrie about knowing educators who love their job. Makes this connectedness such a great celebration. Have a great first day back! Let the learning continue.

  2. What a joy it is for the kids to come to a classroom where they are so welcomed and loved. Enjoy the Sunday before the first day back!

  3. “In our hearts” and “in our minds”, love that too, Tara. I’m glad you had a wonderful break & are ready to be with your Smithlings again. I imagine that they will be happy to return, too. Happy New Year, in school and out, never a dull moment for sure!

  4. Thanks so much for this post. I love teaching. Love making a difference in my students’ lives. I, however, have not been looking forward to Monday….to the harried pace. I teach elementary special ed so I have some of my students multiple years. Many times I am the most stable, consistent person in their lives. They drain me…….but I love them. Thank you, thank you for reminding me to celebrate.

  5. I celebrate as I read your blog and you remind us all to hit the pause button and not jump into the lesson plans. Sharing our stories is so important.

  6. Your words contrast the images and posts of so many teachers on FB. While I love being at home with family, I love going back, too. I never post a days until break or year end countdown. I like your rituals for the week’s beginning, especially the fresh flowers on the desk each week. Each week begins anew. Love your attitude! Keep spreading it. In room 502, I will think of your in room 202 as I begin anew. Gosh, that’s a cheesy rhyme–middle school has made me into this person. Thanks for sharing your positivity.

  7. Tara, a simply lovely celebration of what we do. I too, love the flowers for the week routine! I sneaked into school this morning, and loved reuniting with other educators who were preparing as well. Have a great week!

  8. I’m not the only nerd in this bunch that celebrates going back to work. Like you, I want to hear their stories, see their faces, and feel the pride that comes from being an important person in their lives. Thanks for reminding me that Monday will be great!

  9. I agree Tara, that we need to celebrate moments every chance we get. By now you have finished your first day back and are reflecting on your students’ stories and excitement.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

