Digilit Sunday: Digital notes from Ralph Fletcher’s “Making Nonfiction From Scratch”

digilit sunday

Digilit Sunday is hosted by Margaret Simon @ Reflections on the Teche as an invitation for educators to share ideas for digital literacy and learning.

Lucky me…the weekend before I launch our nonfiction unit, I had Ralph Fletcher’s new book, Making Nonfiction From Scratch on hand to read!  It’s a book packed with great ideas, wise admonitions, and sound advise. I desperately needed all three.  My copy of this book is already marked up and littered with post its, but I created this digital reminder of key points to remember for myself:

https://app.emaze.com/@AFIFZZLL/reader-illustrated-emaze-templatePowered by emaze
Emaze: Making Nonfiction From Scratch, Ralph Fletcher

5 thoughts on “Digilit Sunday: Digital notes from Ralph Fletcher’s “Making Nonfiction From Scratch”

  1. This book is on my TBR pile too. Everything Fletcher writes is a goldmine of information, isn’t it? Looking at your digital notes helps me envision how students might annotate their own reading. I am going to take your lead and try my own annotations using Notability. It’s an app that u would like for my students to become familiar with, which means it will help if I learn it too. 🙂

  2. I slept late this morning and look what you did! I would not have thought to use Emaze in this way. I feel like I’ve gotten the best parts of this book from you. We did nonfiction writing before the break. My students called them Passion Projects and they each made a book using nonfiction text elements. I felt good about it and Ralph Fletcher’s words (and yours) reaffirm that the project was worthy. Thanks for linking. I haven’t done a post today. I may just repeat the OLW post from last January.

  3. Pingback: DigiLit Sunday: One Little Word for 2016 | Reflections on the Teche

  4. Such a fabulous format, Tara, because I so appreciate how you shared your thoughts! Love this: ….”You have to bring it all when you write. Don’t hold anything back. Bring everything you know as a writer about how to animate your material and bring it to life for your reader.” This book is at the top of my stack. Two tasks to do before I can read!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

