Slice of Life Tuesday:Lunchtime with Maira Kalman

sol

Join the Tuesday Slice of Life Writing Community @ Two Writing Teachers

Lunchtime in 202. Kids are sprawled all over the reading rug, playing games and hanging out.  Some sit in table groups, comparing weekend news or studying for a Spanish quiz.  A paper airplane flies dangerously close to one child, scooped into the rocking chair and deeply engrossed in The Last Olympian.  Two young ladies have found a private spot behind the easel to share some bit of thrilling sixth grade drama.   

I, however,  am an island of tranquility in my little corner,

my desk

mostly because of one of my secret lunchtime rituals, a walk with Maira Kalman through her New York Times posts.  No matter how harried the morning has been or the afternoon looks to be, a few minutes of wandering through her delightfully whimsical work is just what I need to soothe my spirit, to calm my nerves.

When you walk with Maira, you notice all sorts of fabulous particulars in the most unlikely places; you see the world with new eyes.  I am at my desk in a microscopic speck of New Jersey, but when I walk with Maira I am everywhere: Monticello, a beach in Tel Aviv, with Marcel and his beloved Maman, walking through city after city…

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 5.53.07 PM.png

The world may be going mad, lunch may not taste particularly good, and the children may seem noisier than ever before just when you needed noise least of all…but all that falls away when walking with Maira Kalman.  Even a bitterly cold, grey day melts into the bliss of this…

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 5.26.35 PM.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday:Lunchtime with Maira Kalman

  1. I agree with Beth. This routine is definitely better for the digestion than trying to sneak in five more minutes of work! Relaxing, informative and fun! And being transported to other places! Perfect!

  2. I want a lunchtime ritual! Brilliant idea. I’m off to write in my notebook thoughts of a ritual that would give me a stroll through the city without leaving my portable.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

