Slice of Life Tuesday:

Join the Slice of Life writing community @ Two Writing Teachers

snow in window

Snow was falling gently, and in the quiet of a school morning first period, I took a moment to pause and watch.  The big window looked over our middle school parking lot, not a beautiful sight on any ordinary day, but today’s snowfall made it quite not ordinary. The rough edges of pathways and concrete were made smooth and gentle, even the bare and gaunt trees were softly draped in snow.

I leaned against the ancient radiator, and listened to its rattle and hiss – the perfect soundtrack to falling snow in the quiet of a school morning.

Soon, there were  footsteps shuffling and clipping up the stairs.  Then, a moment of silence when they reached the landing, the window, and me.  And then, as though this was the most natural thing to do on a quiet, snowy morning of school, two students took their places at the window.

We stood, listening and watching, drawing in all the peace and calm of the sight, before we turned and went on with our day.

20 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday:

  1. Shouldn’t every day start with that calm pause… I feel better just reading your piece! Beautiful writing as always … I wish someone captured a picture of you with your students –although I don’t need it with your description!
    Clare

  2. … in this pause,
    the tree whispers of winters,
    of storms and snowflakes
    and winds pushing against branches,
    arms reaching out for support,
    while only its roots and stories are what
    holds it firm, a place-marker for the season
    standing outside the window.

    –Kevin

  3. Then, a moment of silence when they reached the landing, the window, and me. And then, as though this was the most natural thing to do on a quiet, snowy morning of school, two students took their places at the window.

    We stood, listening and watching, drawing in all the peace and calm of the sight, before we turned and went on with our day.

    This, my friend is a true moment to freeze and remember… we are right there with you 🙂

  4. Pingback: At Times These Days I Think About | Reflections on the Teche

  5. I know you had wished you were home that day, but then you wouldn’t have had that special moment. Beautiful capture of the time, alone and then with students. So lovely, Tara.

  6. Thank you for giving me a quiet winter morning. I have missed snowy days (very rare here now in the Pacific Northwest) for exactly this peaceful reason. I felt like I stood right with you, taking in the quiet.

  7. It’s so peaceful to watch a snowfall. I always love being out in the woods when it’s snowing. It’s so silent and calming. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. I loved reading it and your photo, too.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

