SOLSC: March 10, 2016:Yesterday we went out to play.

sol

Write. Share. Give. Join the March Slice of Life Story Challenge @ Two Writing Teachers

Yesterday, we went out to play.

Skies were a bright cerulean blue

and soft breezes rustled through

new shoots of grass

and the winter weary earth.

Painted in Waterlogue

 

Yesterday, we went out to play.

Our smiles were ear to ear

as we burst through the doors

and raced to the field

the wind in our hair

and the sun warming our bare arms.

Painted in Waterlogue

Yesterday, we went out to play.

We spun across the turf

cartwheeling and dancing

through the sunbeams.

Our laughter rang

across the field,

and we were happy,

so happy.

Yesterday, we went out to play.

Painted in Waterlogue

 

26 thoughts on “SOLSC: March 10, 2016:Yesterday we went out to play.

  1. Lovely poem! It feels like I can’t get outside enough now that the snow is officially on it’s way out! You captured that feeling in your poem.

  2. Tara – what a great scaffold for a poem! I would love to use it with student writers. I think it would be great! Loved the way you did the photos – and I would like to hear more about this. What is this technique or process called?
    I felt such happiness when I read your poem. I as tired of days, cold and short, and my gardens that do not seem to be able to remember their colors yet. Your poem shouted, “Spring!”

  3. Oh! Playtime in the spring! I love that everyone is emerging back outside. At one point last week, practically our entire school was outside playing. The voice of this poem really captures the joy that comes with going outside!

  4. Spring!!! I love it. I was inside most of yesterday, but every chance I got for a little fresh air, I took! I love the feeling of your poem- you can feel the warmth. 🙂

  5. It’ so amazing when it starts to feel like spring. I love the repetition in this poem. I’d love to get that watercolor app. It makes everything so beautiful.

  6. Sometimes you just have to seize the moment and play! You had the perfect day to get out and play. Love your snippets of the action, like, “cartwheeling and dancing through sunbeams.” This poem speaks the language of JOY!

  7. Just gorgeous! And so important
    My favourite line:
    Skies were a bright cerulean blue

    and soft breezes rustled through

    new shoots of grass

    and the winter weary earth.
    Love that winter weary grass.

  8. I like how this poem is set in the past of yesterday. There’s a lingering feeling such that we can take the play and the sun and joy into the days ahead. As a reader, there’s something here to hold on to. Beautiful!

  9. Pingback: Slice of Life: Studying Mentor Texts | Assessment in Perspective

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

