SOLSC: March 12, 2016 & Celebrate This Week:Begin with beauty

sol

Write. Share. Give. Join the March Slice of Life Story Challenge @ Two Writing Teachers

celebrate-image-1

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

In Bergen County, New Jersey, all retail businesses are closed on Sunday.  You can go to the grocery store, the drug store, and the gas station. That’s it.  This is a working person’s nightmare, for every errand must be run on that one day – Saturday.  So, everyone and their dog jumps into their car and barrels around the already clogged highways and byways of suburban New Jersey getting everything done on this one day available – Saturday. I have grown to really despise Saturday morning.

But, before Sophie and I pile into the car and begin our rounds of errands, we began our day in the best way possible – a long walk on a morning at the edge of glorious Spring.  So, I celebrate what we saw:

Spring whimsy to make us smile:

IMG_4179

Being able to look out upon Manhattan and Brooklyn – home to our Elizabeth and Ben, who are (no doubt) still fast asleep:

IMG_4182

The first buds of Spring sunbathing in March warmth:

IMG_4183

We paused at each, and took our time marveling at it all. Whatever else the day will bring, we began it with a celebration.

“On a day
when the wind is perfect,
the sail just needs to open and the world is full of beauty.
Today is such a
day.”
― Rumi

24 thoughts on “SOLSC: March 12, 2016 & Celebrate This Week:Begin with beauty

  1. I remember when I was little the stores were always closed on Sundays. It brings back some great memories of taking Sunday drives (I might have to write a post about that – thanks for the inspiration!) Thanks for the nudge. Your observations were a pleasure to read.

  2. My favorite part was the contrast between you and Sophie joining the busy masses to complete your errands and the calm morning walk, with time to take excellent pictures! It’s life, isn’t it…the calm before the storm! Loved it!!!

  3. Love your phrase, on the edge of glorious spring! Spring is glorious! Now that’s the way to start your day, marveling. Hope the rest of the day brings you many more marvels and few aggravations.

  4. Begin the day with a celebration is a life lesson for us all. Thanks for sharing your pictures – they were all great, but I loved the whimsical Easter bunny one a lot.
    Good luck as you now head on to the errands part, certainly not the favorite part of the day.

  5. Beautiful, beautiful post. I liked learning about Bergen County, the pictures are lovely, and I celebrate your walk with your daughter. Your neighborhood looks lovely. I feel as though I were on your walk with you. You sought, and found, balance in your day….good for you!

  6. Thanks for sharing your ‘glorious’ spring things, Tara. Everything is open here all the time, it seems. There are a few religious-based shops that close on their special days, but that’s it. I know some decry the opening on Sundays, but when else are the workers going to get the errands done? I understand the frustration, but love that you found other things to celebrate.

  7. Bergen County, such a pretty area. Midland Park is the home of my mother-in-law’s family. Dutch heritage is the reason, I believe, for the closure of those retail establishments. We have those same practices in the county next door to us and also because of that Dutch heritage. I love the fact that before you and Sophie hopped into the car to join the roadway craziness, you took some time to enjoy the spring.

  8. Oh, what a perfect morning walk and look at all your views! Love, love, love the bunny ears and the view of the city – Wow! Thanks for pausing and waiting for us to join you, Tara!

  9. Yes, yes, and yes! I love the Rumi quote! Our stores are open on Sundays, but I drive to Colorado Springs every weekend to take care of my mom for the day, so I still have to do all of these things on Saturdays. Thanks for beginning my Sunday with a celebration!

  10. Stores in CT used to be closed on Sundays. I can’t remember when that changed. Funny that my post from Sunday was so similar to your Saturday post, which I didn’t read until Monday. 🙂 Your views are lovely!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

