SOLSC: March 22, 2016:I did not write on Sunday…

 

Write. Share. Give. Join the March Slice of Life Story Challenge @ Two Writing Teachers

Write. Share. Give. Join the March Slice of Life Story Challenge @ Two Writing Teachers

I did not write on Sunday…

Instead, I went on long walks with my son and talked about life, love and books.  We stood at the view at the top of our street, and imagined what the next few years would bring: new views, new lives, new beginnings.  I did not write on Sunday…I made time instead for my son.

I did not write on Sunday…

Instead, I looked through old picture books and picture boxes, as my husband reminisced about his mother.  She would have been 88, the proud grandmother of grandchildren who share so many of her interests and gifts: they sing, they read, they love to travel.  I did not write on Sunday…I made time instead for memories and thoughts of what could have been.

I did not write on Sunday…

Instead, I looked through my notes from my day at the Saturday Reunion.  I heard the voices of Cornelius and Lucy and Kate and tried to imagine how I could reimagine their wisdom and passion for teaching and learning in my classroom. I  did not write on Sunday…I made time instead for sitting still and thinking deep.

I did not write on Sunday…  but, I fed my writing soul.

23 thoughts on “SOLSC: March 22, 2016:I did not write on Sunday…

  1. You made an intentional decision not to write and that’s more than OK. Your family needed you, all of you, the writing part of you as well.

  2. I love all the things you did on Sunday, even the “not writing.” The time with your son, the time with your husband, the time spent reflecting about the TC reunion – all such powerful moments.
    And you’re right – you have now re-fueled your writer’s soul!

  3. I agree with Clare – you did write! Feeding your writing soul is part of the process. You just don’t have the tangible evidence.Sounds like a day well spent.

  4. I agree with Clare. That is writing. That’s why we need to let kids think and simmer before they write, while they write, if they don’t write. I love this post.

  5. You may not have put pen to paper, but you were certainly composing! This slice reminds me of Carrie Gleason’s slice from the other day about sitting and looking out the window instead of writing.

    Jennifer

  6. These are beautiful reasons why you did not write on Sunday … “I fed my writing soul.” That gives me goosebumps!!! But I’m so glad that you wrote today to share. Life has a way of reminding you what’s essential in the moment … and the moments you created Sunday with your son and the memories of your husband’s Grandma and the deep thinking were essential. As always, beautiful written!

  7. I missed you on Sunday, but that’s okay, because your words are all the sweeter when they do come as a gift in my email. Time with your son, your husband, memories, and learning is time well spent.

  8. I’m so glad for all the things you did on Sunday. And in doing those lovely things, you fed your writing soul. Good reminder that sometimes we need to just be present with our lives, and write later.

  9. Sounds like a beautiful day! Just because you didn’t POST your ideas on Sunday doesn’t mean you didn’t write on Sunday! I think Clare expressed what most of us are thinking! Writing in the air, prewriting, experiential composing…it’s all writing!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

