SOLSC – March 31,2016: Gratitude

sol

Join the Two Writing Teachers blog for March Slice of Life Challenge.

Here we are, writing friends, on the last day of another March Slice of Life writing challenge.  We made it!

There were some writing days that went well…there were some that were rocky…and then there was one that just did not go.  Writing is like that.

With each March Challenge, I learn something important about myself as a writer and (more importantly) as a writing teacher.  I learn something about “having to write” – which is, let’s face it, what I ask my students to do every day they walk into my classroom. I learn something about putting something “on the page” and working to craft it into something readable, something meaningful.  I learn that sometimes the words I write don’t quite measure up to what I’d hoped, but I can always return someday to revise.

And I learn about the importance of the constant and encouraging support of a writing community.  Each day, you were here to read, leave words to show you’d read, and in doing so you left hope for tomorrow as another writing day.

So, on this last day of our March Challenge…I thank you, the Slice of Life writing community.  You kept me going, you really did.  And for that, I am abundantly grateful.

rumi cloak

I

23 thoughts on “SOLSC – March 31,2016: Gratitude

  1. You are right — this challenge has made us ‘walk the walk’ in what we ask our students to do every day. It has made us better, and in return, we will help our students be better writers. Thank you for your many comments over the past 31 days, Tara.

    Jennifer

  2. Tara, it has been such a pleasure to read through your slices this month! The importance of the “constant and encouraging support of a writing community” became so evident to me as I tried to make each slice meaningful. You all have given such meaning to my writing and thinking this month! Thank you.

  3. This is such a case where showing up really is so much of the battle. Thank you too for being so kind and generous with your thinking.

  4. Always a pleasure to read your kind and wise words, Tara. Keeping on is what we all do, and here at the end, time to take a little rest, too. Thanks for being a wonderful host this month.

  5. Tara, thank you for your beautiful post. It’s been a challenge to get something on the blog every day, but your encouragement has been invaluable. Your kindness is apparent. See you on Tuesdays.

  6. What a beautiful reflection! My favorite line is “I learn that sometimes the words I write don’t quite measure up to what I’d hoped, but I can always return someday to revise.” So true. It’s been great to read your comments and posts this year!

  7. You sum up the month of writing beautifully, Tara. Some days are better than others and some don’t seem to go at all. Yet, we write. Let’s hear it for all of us.

  8. Everything you said is everything I feel about this challenge. It has helped me as a writer, yes, but mostly it has helped me as a teacher.

  9. Once again Tara, you identify yourself as a reflective learner. Your words are so well chosen. What particularly resonated for me were these words,’I learn about the importance of the constant and encouraging support of a writing community.’ In the classroom and beyond all writers need to feel this sense of community. Your capacity to share does you proud.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

