Poetry Friday:The visible and the in-by Marge Piercy

Thanks to Buffy Silverman of Buffy’s Blog for hosting the Poetry Friday round-up!

box of photographs.jpg

I’ve been spending time recently talking to one of my children about relationships – what happens to memories and love when a relationship ends? when the tethers of friendship fray and then give way?   Not having any wise answers of my own, I turn to poetry – and this one, I think, says what I feel about people in our lives and all the variations of relationships we seem destined to have…The visible and the in-by Marge Piercy

 

Some people move through your life
like the perfume of peonies, heavy
and sensual and lingering.

Some people move through your life
like the sweet musky scent of cosmos
so delicate if you sniff twice, it’s gone.

Some people occupy your life
like moving men who cart off
couches, pianos and break dishes.

Some people touch you so lightly you
are not sure it happened. Others leave
you flat with footprints on your chest.

Some are like those fall warblers
you can’t tell from each other even
though you search Petersen’s.

Some come down hard on you like
a striking falcon and the scars remain
and you are forever wary of the sky.

We all are waiting rooms at bus
stations where hundreds have passed
through unnoticed and others

have almost burned us down
and others have left us clean and new
and others have just moved in.

15 thoughts on “Poetry Friday:The visible and the in-by Marge Piercy

  1. It’s a wonderful entry for your conversations, Tara. I certainly connect with each stanza, some sadly, others with a smile. I love that last line (smiling): “others have just moved in.” Thanks for sharing your connections to this poem, too.

  2. A wonderful post. Now I’m going to share this poem with someone I had this conversation with recently. Thank-you. That falcon is so powerful – forever wary of the sky. (A bit like our magpies!)

  3. “We are all waiting rooms at bus stations…” Thanks for sharing this poem. I love discovering new poems from my Poetry Friday friends. This one’s a keeper. And I love the title.

  4. What a great poem, Tara. It has me pondering relationships and the marks they’ve left behind. I love the comparisons with flowers and birds–so clever! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Thank you for sharing this wise poem. Trust a poet like Piercy to say, with eloquence, the almost unsayable. I really like the picture of: “We are all waiting rooms at bus stations…”

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

