Celebrate This Week:From vicarious travel to baseball

celebrate-image-1

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

This was a funny old week, really. It began  sunny and warm days full of Spring promise, which were followed by a return to cold and clammy pre-Spring gloom.  Nevertheless, there were things to celebrate.

My husband and daughter are traveling through Austria, and I celebrate their adventures through the photographs they send, and our conversations at night when they share their experiences of  the day.  I love knowing that they are making every moment of this experience count.

I celebrate the return to our classroom routines, now that PARCC testing is over.  My kids and I have settled back into our sixth grade groove: read alouds, book clubs, writing workshop…and “five book Friday”.  Yesterday, I settled back to listen to my kids share their reading lives, and marveled at the variety of their reading choices and the confidence with which they book talked them.   We celebrate our reading lives.

IMG_4654

It’s baseball and softball season, and our reading area looks like the team locker room.  I love hearing the stories of practices and games, the drama of my kids’ sports lives, when they drop their gear off in the morning and then stop by to collect it all after school.  I can picture them playing on the fields across our town, and this always makes me smile.  I celebrate the physical exuberance of this other life that my kids are lucky to have the chance to live through sports.

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 7.11.51 AM.png
Speaking of sports, I celebrate the return of the baseball season, my beloved Red Sox, the joy of watching a game at the end of a long week, and having something to celebrate 🙂 (the Sox won!).

All in all…it’s been a good week!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Celebrate This Week:From vicarious travel to baseball

  1. I think one of the most difficult things about testing week for kids is not the actual test, but the disruption to their routine. Isn’t it great to get back into it? It feels like coming home.

    Jen

  2. I’m so glad you choose to celebrate, Tara. Your sweet posts resonate and give me a look into the future of family life as kids grow up.

    I, too, celebrate baseball and softball season. (Stephanie plays and Andy coaches her team.) And the return of baseball on TV — Andy is a diehard Cardinals fan. Plus the hope that the beginning of baseball season offer me, a loyal Cubs fan. 😉

    Happy weekend,
    Ruth

  3. Austria! How wonderful for father and daughter to have such a special time together. When my students and I were finally back together on Friday after testing, it was like a homecoming, hugs and smiles and laughter. We missed each other.

  4. Isn’t it great that you can connect with your husband and daughter at night about their faraway adventures? The internet is a gift I think. Glad to hear about you getting back into the routine, and the fun times here at the year’s end. Our Rockies are doing pretty good so far, & I hope it continues. Baseball brings out the springtime for us. Have a lovely weekend!

  5. Back to routines, enjoying reading and writing lives – good that the testing is behind. The possibility to be outside in the fresh air and exercising helps to boost mood too. For those who don’t play, watching sports is also exciting.

  6. Tara, congratulations on being back in the classroom routines with your engaged class. Austria in photos-will you share. Maybe your daughter will send one I can post in my new spring gallery’s photo corner.

  7. I’m glad you all are finished with testing and are getting back into the regular learning routine. Baseball is a super way to connect with students.

  8. Love seeing those backpacks parked in your room, at the ready for practices after school. Great to hear of the return to regular routines and being in the sixth grade groove. We’re just starting testing this week.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

