It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #cyberPD and Summer Reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA! is hosted by Jen Vincent  @ Teach Mentor Texts & Kellee Moye @ Unleashing Readers
Summer PD would not be the same without #cyberPD, created by Cathy Mere, Laura Komos and Michelle Nero.  These three amazing educators pored over bookstacks submitted by teachers all across the country in order to choose the one we would all read and discuss over the summer.  Two days ago, Cathy shared the post we have all been awaiting, the one with the big real…the #cyberPB selection of 2016, and our discussion calendar.  How exciting to be reading and learning and gathering to share our thoughts about this wonderful new book:
DIY lit
I have been assembling my summer book stack for the past few weeks: just-released books, books I have bought but could not find the time to read during the school year, and books I need to re-read:
IMG_4967
As I wrap up the old school year, it’s exciting to think ahead to the new one…so much wisdom to discover, process, and imagine bringing to life with a brand new set of students. Summer is all about slowing down the pace of life, reconnecting with family and friends, and continuing to learn and grow in our teaching lives. I am ready!
12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #cyberPD and Summer Reading

  1. I was waiting until I went to ILA to purchase DIY LIteracy, but just ordered it when I heard it’s the #cyberpd choice. There are so many great professional books and so little time! I’m trying to keep my stack small and realistic, but other great books keep popping up.

  2. We absolutely love DIY Literacy – It is filled with such practical ideas for how to support students in the classroom. The microprogressions and the demonstration notesbooks are amazing tools for teaching

  3. Thanks for sharing about #cyberPD, Tara! It’s going to be a great conversation. Your book stack is just as tall as mine … All the books I ordered throughout the year, but never enough time. Hope to read through them like you! Thanks for sharing!

  4. I am so happy when I read that other teachers renew and recharge by reading lots in the summer- some of the people I work with make me feel weird for that. We have lots of the same books on deck!

  5. Now I’m going to have to check out DIY Literacy, after reading your post and all the comments! I’ll be reviewing Ralph Fletcher’s work this summer, prior to a district staff development with him in the fall.

  6. Hi Tara, Are you doing the Spring Seeds project? I couldn’t remember where I read about it. I would like to send you an email about a piece I wrote, but don’t know how to reach you outside of SOL. Barbara Suter

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

