Slice of Life Tuesday: Field trip!

Join the Tuesday Slice of Life Community @ Two Writing Teachers

bronx zoo.jpg

Dear Smithlings,

In a few hours, we will be boarding a bus bound for the Bronx Zoo.

On the journey there, I will be listening closely to your chatter and your laughter, your sing alongs and your silly jokes.  I will try to manage your cannot-sit-still-in-one-place energy, and your we-are-not-in-school-today exuberance.   I will answer those are-we-there-yet questions with as many variations as I can muster, this seems to make the journey that much more fun.

As we spend the day wandering through this remarkable place, I will be listening closely to your questions and your wonderings – our trips outside school seem to get you thinking all the more about the world and your place in it.  You notice so much that I have learned to pass by, and you are curious about things I have learned to take for for granted.  Being with you today will be a lesson in paying attention, living  in wonder, taking joy in the moment.

On the journey back, I will walk the length of the bus many times, listening to your stories of the day.   You will be slightly less energetic than your morning selves, but just as filled with that special sixth grade mix of goofiness and thoughtfulness.  As our bus pulls into the middle school driveway in the waning hours of late afternoon, I will feel the tug of all the memories we have created this sixth grade year.  As you hop off the bus and race to your waiting parents, I  will bid each of you the first goodbye  of the last days of school.

Our school year, in that moment, will seem far too short.  I will have begun missing you.

Mrs. Smith

pooh

19 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Field trip!

  1. Tara,
    Love your letter format! And this . . .”As you hop off the bus and race to your waiting parents, I will bid each of you the first goodbye of the last days of school.”

    The first goodbye of the last days of school!!! – the promise of several goodbyes! Always so much poetry in all of your writing! ❤

  2. I absolutely adore the Bronx Zoo. Lucky you and those kids. I can’t tell you how much I wish I were applying to be your partner in sixth grade. Have a wonderful animal filled day!

  3. Ack- I loved this line too: ”As you hop off the bus and race to your waiting parents, I will bid each of you the first goodbye of the last days of school.”
    Today is my first Tuesday since school let out and I admit I have already looked to see whether my students have posted on our summer Padlets- I am missing them!

  4. I enjoyed the 1st person narrative format of your post. Oh, how I can feel the enthusiasm and hear the excitement of the bus ride and arrival at the zoo! The quote at the end is forever perfect. Enjoy your day! ~Amy

  5. That’s wonderful. I hope you are going to post about your day there. I am looking forward to visiting the Bronx Zoo when I visit New York next month. 🙂

  6. Field Trips are NOT frivolous!!!! Here’s the perfect justification:
    Our trips outside school seem to get you thinking all the more about the world and your place in it. You notice so much that I have learned to pass by, and you are curious about things I have learned to take for for granted. Being with you today will be a lesson in paying attention, living in wonder, taking joy in the moment.

  7. Such a perfect format and you captured the essence of traveling to and from on a field trip perfectly. I love your last line and the Winnie the Pooh quote is a favorite of mine. Have never been to the Bronx Zoo.

  8. Our field trip to the Mercy Corps headquarters is later this week. I will keep this mind in line when we go ” Being with you today will be a lesson in paying attention, living in wonder, taking joy in the moment.” Have a great day at the Zoo!

  9. So beautifully written and so heartwarming. Your hyphenated adjectives add just the right touch. Somehow I think you have done this before – you’ve captured the bittersweet goodbye of the end of a school year so well.

  10. A sweet memory before it happens. What a way to hold it tight. It’s what we want to do at times like these. I love the way you rejoice in the wonder and the goofiness of your students. They are a lucky crew.

  11. Love the letter format and the personal touch you give each of your students. The first of many goodbyes… Bittersweet. You are one of the few who are meant to be with 6th graders, an age between childhood and teenage years. Have a great day today!

  12. I used the same Winnie the Pooh quote when I said my final goodbye to my kids. That just seems to say it all. And don’t you just love that 6th grade goofiness – they are still kids while trying to figure out the world. And we are blessed to be a part of it! Hope you had a great day with them!

  13. I have my fourth graders field trip tomorrow and I’m looking forward to it. I only have a few more field trips left. After fifth grade there aren’t many. Sniff. 🙂

  14. There is nothing like a field trip with a group of sixth graders. The bus ride was always an adventure in itself. We would take our students to Penn’s Cave and the conversations on the way home were always interesting. A day of learning for all involved.

  15. I look at the clock and I know you must be back from the trip to the zoo and totally exhausted. This evening, sit back, prop your feet, sip something slowly as you remember the lessons of “paying attention, living in wonder, taking joy in the moment.” You have such a talent for finding the right words to deliver a beautiful slice of your life.

  16. This touching slice is a wonderful reminder that the end of each school year is filled with many different good-byes, each one just as difficult and necessary and precious as the next. Wonderful slice!

  17. Here is my question these days, is it easier to imagine a future of saying goodbye or is it harder than the real thing? after reading your post here today I realize I’m doing a lot of both these days. About all I’ve come up with is that at least I’m prepared.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

