Celebrate this week: Writing stamina and summer learning dreams

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

This was a week to celebrate…

Writing stamina:

Each of my kids wrote four pieces each on a topic of their choice for our multi genre writing project.  We have spent the last month of school neck deep in researching, planning, writing, and conferring over a variety of topics chosen by my kiddos: DNA, magic, poverty in the United States of America, and sailing.  Last Friday, towards the end of our block time,  I looked up from my computer and took in the scene one last time: jazz was playing, we were all working.  My sixth graders, most of whom had not been able to sustain more than 10 minutes of writing when the year first began,  had been writing for an hour and a half every day for the past few weeks.  I celebrate their writing stamina!

growing-yourselfm-image2

As we close in on the last week of school, my thoughts turn to summer rejuvenation: moving up to our farm, reuniting with family and friends, working on farm projects, and summer learning.  It has been a long, slog of year; the hardest of my teaching career.  I love what I do, I have never felt more centered and directed in my teaching life,and I have had the pleasure of teaching another crop of curious, ready to learn, and thoroughly endearing sixth graders. But, our building environment has become toxic, and upsetting issues have a way of intruding upon classroom life…even when you have closed the door and have been determined to shut all that noise out.

I celebrate the idea of packing up my classroom on Friday, shutting off the lights one last time for the year, and locking up room 202 for a while.  I celebrate the knowledge that soon I will turn my attention to the supportive and positive band of committed educators that is my online PLN – my ideal and online faculty lounge.  Together we will read new books, learn from each other, embark on writing journeys, and celebrate all that positive and committed teaching should be.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Celebrate this week: Writing stamina and summer learning dreams

  1. Love the project that you do with your students each end of the year, & know they must be so proud. I’m glad you’re nearly done, and read for the farm & a rest. Best wishes & hugs for a fabulous final week celebrating with the students in room 202!

  2. It’s important to celebrate even amidst the toxicity of your school. Just know that you have done the best for your students within the walls of Rm. 202. Can’t wait to learn and grow with you this summer.

  3. Love “seeing” your students at work through your writing. Stamina is indeed something worth celebrating. And now it’s time to head to the farm and celebrate some time for relaxing and renewal. Looking forward to seeing you at some virtual summer PD events. Great pin!

  4. The best part of this post is the hope in the last paragraph! Summer is such a time for renewal and rejuvenation and you have the perfect spot and perfect attitude for it! Can’t wait to learn with you.

  5. Tara, I recall reading about your genre writing project in another post and I remember how engaged your students were then. It’s great to hear about the writing stamina they have gained throughout the year. Certainly, worth celebrating!

  6. Pingback: Celebrate this week: Writing stamina and summer learning dreams — A Teaching Life | The Sleeping Reading Beauty ~ book reviews

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

