Slice of Life Tuesday:Whew! Another multi genre writing celebration to celebrate!

Join the Tuesday Slice of Life Community @ Two Writing Teachers

Monday morning. My students charge into our classroom, intent on setting up their writing museums: sports and sailing paraphernalia jockey with posters of DNA helixes and NJ Transit schedules. There is an air of excitement as my kiddos cast one last glance over their writing pieces ( each student wrote four genres of their choice on topics of their choice), adjusting their displays and checking for missed typos.

Students responsible for greeting parents and putting up our invitational posters scurry around and get into position.  It’s show time: our multi genre writing celebration!

IMG_5058

Parents begin to file in, and my kiddos attend to their “meet and greets”, settling parent into their seats and then beginning their presentations: what did writing workshop look like this year? what genres did we study? what did it feel like to be a sixth grade writer? I watched as each student made their presentation, marveling at their confidence and humor – but, especially, at the message that came through each time: we are writers, and today is all about celebrating that.  Soon, parents were invited to read, as our favorite jazz music played in the background (the soundtrack of our writing lives this past month):

And, just like that, another writing year came to a joyous close.

****************************************************

My teaching life take aways:

Choice matters: My kids wrote about topics that were close to their hearts.  Sometimes, this meant a leap of faith for me  – is a sixth grader capable of writing knowledgeably about DNA? or meaningfully about chewing gum? The answer is a resounding “yes!”…with a bit of direction, some reorientation, and a lot of faith.

“Teach the writer not the writing”: If memory serves me, this was a Lucy Calkins bit of wisdom, and it is so very true.  Each of my 41 students presented themselves as individual writers with unique needs. Each had their own take on memoir or poetry or anything else, and I had to find a way to teach the genre without losing each kiddos voice.  It’s hard work, inexact, sometimes fraught with frustration, but worth it – my kids now see themselves as writers. That’s the aim of writing workshop, after all.

Audience matters: There is always something special about inviting parents to read the work of a class.  I believe parents need to see what writing workshop is all about, we teachers need their buy in about the importance of daily writing, and learning the habits of the writing process – there is so much about the workshop model that seems invisible and unknowable to outsiders. The writing process, with its many multi layered steps, needs to be made visible in order for parents to understand its complexity, its worthiness of time and effort.  Most of all, my kids were primed for an audience beyond just their classmates, they had worked all year towards this public forum: parents other than their own reading their work.  The bar was set higher, but they were ready.  They were, actually, excited about sharing their writing.

It was a glorious day!  All that work was so very worth it!

16 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday:Whew! Another multi genre writing celebration to celebrate!

  1. Tara, this is absolutely amazing. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to see the celebration in person. And your take aways are important to remember too. Sometimes it’s difficult to remember them as you move through a project because we get so wrapped up in teaching the content. Well, you nailed it and so did your students. Congratulations!

  2. Tara, I swear one day I am going to come to this celebration. I love this unit you do every year, and I love the way you nurture them as writers. I know I always say it, but I have to say it again: lucky, lucky kids.

  3. I think your writing museum is amazing. I can’t imagine the effort that must go into preparing students to share a full year of writing workshop. Yes, it is a mostly “invisible” process that needs to be shared with parents so they can appreciate how important that process is to the maturation of their child. This piece of education is missing for so many kids, and it shows as they become young adults who have not had the experience of finding their own voice and embracing writing. They are so lucky to have had you during this pivotal year in their lives. I used to do some parent-sharing events, too, with the work of my ESL students. These students and parents needed a place to celebrate their unique accomplishments.
    Kudos to you for your above and beyond efforts!

  4. This is just like our Expo, and I know you must be so proud of your students, and I hope proud of what you have brought them to be as writers and researchers, feeling good about their accomplishments! Whew! After such a time, the relief was always there, too, right? Happy last week, Tara!

  5. The way you place value on the process and then celebrate is admirable. I’m sure your parents and students are still glowing. A wonderful legacy for their 6th grade year with you.

  6. Congratulations to you and your kiddos. There is something about sharing the work you have accomplished that makes it more valuable. I love that parents could be there to see and celebrate.

  7. My fourth grader did something similar and I was amazed by how insightful the kids are. My oldest is going into sixth grade next year and I’m excited to see what he’ll be learning. 🙂

  8. Tara, what a fabulous example of an authentic culminating performance task/showcase. I would like to show this post to the teacher/graduate students in my first ever ELA Summer Institute at the local college. I am so excited to teach this four day institute and feel that your post will give the teachers a look into what I will be talking about. Thanks so much for sharing your end of the year celebration. You must have been so proud of all of your students.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

