Poetry Friday: Summer Shower by Emily Dickinson

Poetry Friday is hosted by Mary Lee @ A Year of Reading

Storm clouds billowed ominously all over the valleys and mountains here, and when the rain came it was ferocious.  This old farmhouse has seen many storms in its time, but I am not ashamed to admit that I was genuinely scared…that thunder was awfully close, and that lightning was awfully bright.   Of course, we lost internet service for hours, too…but there was something rather atmospheric about seeing out a raging storm with nothing but books and my writer’s notebook for company.   The storm has passed, and I now leave it to Emily Dickinson to capture the mood of what remains…

rain

Summer Shower

A drop fell on the apple tree,
Another on the roof;
A half a dozen kissed the eaves,
And made the gables laugh.

A few went out to help the brook,
That went to help the sea.
Myself conjectured, Were they pearls,
What necklaces could be!

The dust replaced in hoisted roads,
The birds jocoser sung;
The sunshine threw his hat away,
The orchards spangles hung.

The breezes brought dejected lutes,
And bathed them in the glee;
The East put out a single flag,
And signed the fete away.

22 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Summer Shower by Emily Dickinson

  1. What a beautiful poem you shared with us today.What are those amazing flowers in your photo and where is this amazing farm? I experienced a storm like this just this afternoon. It came quickly and was ferocious. I have actually come to love such storms…so much drama in a very short time! The language of Dickinson’s poem is so exquisite and precise. Even though I am not altogether sure of what she’s saying, I “get it!” Words and phrases then had so much more nuance than they do today.

  2. I’m never going to read Emily Dickinson the same way again.

    Seriously, though, Tara, your photograph helped me see those spangles and pearls in the rain.

  3. Adding this poem to my favorites file – even though I’m trying so hard to weed! I’ve never read it before. How did I miss it? I must admit that we rarely have ferocious storms in the NW, but your description stirred up memories of many scary storms from my childhood.

  4. Tara….I got a double blessing in this post. I clicked on the link and landed “here” and did a quick scan as I usually do before reading from the beginning.

    At the bottom of your post was the name Linda Pastan. I adore Linda Pastan’s poetry and I simply don’t see her work as much as I like in my everyday life.

    So, of course I clicked back to your November post and enjoyed not only Linda Pastan’s poem but the video of Dickinson’s home and more of her words……then to return to today and read this glorious poem. What can make the roof laugh….lovely and funny and so Emily Dickinson.

    Thank you so much! I am off to mundane chores….but filled up.

  5. Tara, the crackle of thunder and the flashing lightening striking your farmhouse must have been a scary sight but look at the beauty afterwards. The quick, torrential rain this week provided such an enormous drink for my flowers and grass that I was so surprised at the way it all thrived. Nature has majesty.

  6. My parents’ gardens have been drowning this summer, so they haven’t shared Emily’s experience. I think they would much prefer hers! Thanks for sharing this joyful, new-to-me work.

  7. Emily makes everything better – even torrential rain storms. Love the lines: “Myself conjectured, Were they pearls,
    What necklaces could be!”
    I do love me a string of pearls. =)

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

