Celebrate this week: book love

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

IMG_5444

Books I’ve read over the past two weeks.

When teachers get together, we talk about our students, the classrooms we invest our time and teaching energy creating, and BOOKS – the lifeblood of our teaching lives.  Teachers talk about books in a special way, though – it’s not just about the stories they tell, or how how the story is told.  Teachers talk about why these stories matter, especially to the children in our classrooms.

Last week, my beloved writing group convened at Old Bedlam Farm to write (of course!), share our craft, and inspire each other.  From the very first moment of arrival, it seemed, every table was covered with stacks of books we wanted to share with each other: books to swap, books to lend, books to gift.  There was such delight in books!

Every excursion involved some variation of book love – old books, new books, books for our family, books for our classrooms.   Our conversations spilled over displays and stacks and bins…there was so much to share and discover.

In a few weeks, I will be packing up my summer book collection and thinking about how I will introduce each new find to my brand new class of sixth graders.  I know that I will be hearing the echoes of  joyous summer conversations even as I decide which ones to read aloud, which ones to set aside for book clubs, and which ones to partner up with a student who needs to hear the message of that particular book.

This Celebrations Saturday, I celebrate teacher book talk…because it reminds us that book love begins with each one of us – we can teach to it because we know it.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Celebrate this week: book love

  1. I love how the bookseller came by us and wanted to join in our conversation and wanted our blog addresses. Our talk was contagious. Not to mention costly. I look forward to getting a package from Old Bedlam Farm. It’ll be like opening up a gift. Thanks for everything!

  2. Ok, I want to know about the book by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Gifts from the Sea is my all time favorite book! I’ve never seen this one. Tell me more! It seems like it was an amazing time together!

  3. One of the things I miss is that book-talking, but I’m getting a little of it at the bookstore from other book lovers! Sounds like a lovely book time among all the other parts!

  4. A getaway with friends indulging in book talk-it couldn’t get better for a group of teacher learners-How wonderful! Upstate NY looks as lovely as I remember it. I am joining my family in Syracuse soon and the trip up along Route 17. I just love traveling on that route.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

