#Digilit Sunday: “Reflection”

digilit-sunnda

Digilit Sunday is hosted by Margaret Simon @Reflections on the Teche.  Today, Margaret asks us to consider the word “reflection”.

reflection

Reflection is baked into my teaching life: after every lesson, read aloud, collaborative project, teaching day, and professional reading or conference attended, I make it a priority to reflect on what I learned, how it went, or how I could improve.  Reflection, over the years, has become a habit and a deliberate practice.  I know that I am a better teacher because I make reflection a priority.

This year, I want to make reflection important for my students, too.  This year, we will work together as a class so that reflection is a habit and a deliberate practice for my students, too.

As with so much of what I choose to bring to the classroom for my students, this goal was initiated  by a conversation I listened in on Voxer between three amazing educators: Dr. Mary Howard, Donna Donner and Julieanne Harmatz.  The conversation began with how to help our students self assess, so that they could begin to formulate their own learning goals in a more independent way.  From there, the conversation moved to self reflection, i.e. rather than making students attend to contrived-by-us checklists, our aim as teachers should be  to lead students to ask themselves:

*what did you learn about yourself as readers, writers, and thinkers when you went about this task?

*what did you do differently this time, and how did this help you?

*what didn’t you do and how could you take steps to do better?

“We don’t want to lose the learner to some contrived task,” Mary Howard reminded us, “the focus must be on the learner.”  In other words, the learner must learn how to be reflective of his or her learning process – it should become a habit by deliberate and explicit practice.

So, this year in room 202, we will take the time to practice reflection.   We will stop to ask ourselves what we learned about our learning processes.  We will make it a priority to take the time to ask: What did you learn about yourself as a reader, writer, thinker when….

9 thoughts on “#Digilit Sunday: “Reflection”

  1. As we reflect on our teaching we reflect with our students. But to have students reflect frequently and overtly, will build in so many ways. The language of reflection needs to be present in classrooms and Mary’s thoughts are so powerful. I especially love: What did you do and how could you do it better. That is so simple and replicable.

  2. Pingback: #Digilit Sunday: “Reflection” — A Teaching Life | The World According to Social Studies … 2016

  3. Our posts walk hand in hand as we both took away valuable thinking from the Voxer chat. I do this so naturally as a teacher but forget to ask my students to reflect on their learning. Thanks for joining the conversation.

  4. “What did you learn about yourself as a reader, writer, thinker when…” THAT is the important question! Your Voxer chats alone alone, are so reflective. Voxer is something I still have not been fully involved in yet, but enjoy reading how teachers are using them to be reflective.

  5. I love it. I’m always interested to find out what my students think of the work they do. This is a chance to make it a point to find out more.

  6. Deeper questioning of the introspective nature is an invitation for students to think about their learning and make adjustments that will help them become better at what they do. I look forward to hearing more about your classroom this year.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

