Celebrate this week: A weekend to write!

celebrate

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

I am lucky this weekend to be in Kennebunkport, Maine at the invitation of Brenda Power and Choice Literacy…a gift, a challenge, a call to write and do nothing but write all in one.

I am in the company of gifted educators and writers, a supportive and generous community.

I am in a lovely old inn, full of history and charm.

And, I have lots of ideas rumbling around in my head: ideas about teaching, the kids I teach, the way I teach, and the way I want to teach.  I live and breathe this teaching life, and I have things I want to write…

…but…

…sometimes the fear of not being able to say what one most wants to say gets in the way of saying anything at all.

On a walk last night we saw these mysterious whirligigs twirling merrily away,

IMG_6064.JPG

And this morning, I spied a large shell filled to the brim with more shells:

IMG_6067.JPG

Mystery, magic, choice, variety, complexity…the writing life.  This morning, this writing morning which begins a writing day, I feel as though I am in the company of Ruth Ayers, who wrote this on her blog: I’m going to fight the good fight by writing.

Yes. I will write, and I celebrate that!

 

14 thoughts on “Celebrate this week: A weekend to write!

  1. I love everything you write about teaching, Tara, and love that you are there in that company, helping to add to the best practices for teachers to read and know. Enjoy-love your pictures!

  2. What an awesome opportunity! I look forward to reading your articles on Choice Literacy. You share your gift of teaching every time you post about happenings in your class. I thank you for that! Enjoy your day!

  3. It sounds like an amazing weekend. Also, you aren’t the only one celebrating writing. It’s making me want to get started myself. I’ve been on a very long break from writing (aside from book reviews and blog posts) and have been thinking about getting back to it. Thanks!

  4. I hope the writing weekend provided you with the energy to create in the company of writers. It certainly sounds like an ideal place to create. Fight the good fight-write.

  5. Oh my goodness! So true! “…sometimes the fear of not being able to say what one most wants to say gets in the way of saying anything at all.”

    The weekend must have been incredible!

    You are always inspiring!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

