Slice of Life Tuesday: First snow

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Two Writing Teachers 

wallup.net

The forecast called for snow in the evening. But evening came and went and there was no snow.

And then, just past nine o’clock, as I was carting out the recycling bins full of the New York Times which we had deliberately avoided reading since the elections, I saw the first snow flakes of winter waft down from the inky sky.   They drifted lazily at first, and then quickened their pace.  Soon it was really snowing…as in snowflakes in greater numbers tumbling down faster and faster.

Soon, there was snow on every outdoor  surface – that “blanket of white” my students love to write about.   We waited a bit, Sophie and I, before venturing out.  By the time we did, there was enough snow for us to trudge through, in that winter way: the crunch of boots and paws, and footprints left to be filled again.

The familiar late evening walk took on an air of magic. Twinkling holiday lights, glimpses of Christmas trees through windows, headlights inching slowly up the now-slick winter street – each new view was another delight to pause for a moment and take in.  Sophie buried her nose in the snow from time to time, and tunneled her way through a path of snowy delight.

We made our way through the usual late night route made fresh with first snow.  Winter is upon us, finally, and we are happy for it.

16 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: First snow

  1. There is something magical about falling snow at night. So glad you and Sophie could enjoy it. The image topping the post is wonderful.

  2. When I read posts like yours, I am sad that I don’t get to experience this magic. Thanks for describing your walk so beautifully that I can sense it myself.

  3. Love how you captured this magical moment. I also liked the image of seeing it as you disposed of those unread newspapers. I had to take a break from news, too after the election and actually stopped my home delivery of the post. Taking a break from news and seeing snow! A perfect combination.

  4. I love those snowy night walks, still venture out without a dog, at least for a foray around the block. Beautifully shown, Tara. Happy Christmas to you and yours!

  5. Love the picture you paint with your words. The first snowfall is beautiful. There is something about the peace and quiet of walking in the snow when not much else is moving.

  6. I love those first snows and there is something magical about snow at night. I so remember my dog tunneling her nose in paths of snowy delights. Thanks for sparking that happy memory and for taking us along on your walk. Enjoy.

  7. I saw the first snow flakes of winter waft down from the inky sky. They drifted lazily at first, and then quickened their pace. Soon it was really snowing…as in snowflakes in greater numbers tumbling down faster and faster. Love these lines — perfectly perfect!! Thank you
    Clare

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

