#IMWAYR:The King of the Birds, Preaching To The Chickens, & Ghost

imwayr-2015-1-2

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA! is hosted by Jen Vincent  @Teach Mentor Texts & Kellee Moye @ Unleashing Readers.

Winter break gave me the chance to dive into the box of books I had had shipped home from NCTE, which was just the kind of vacation activity I enjoy most: reading!

The first book I reached for was The King Of The Birds, Acree Graham Macam’s delightful picture book:

king of the birds.jpg

Natalie Nelson’s gorgeous cover had caught my eye as I was wandering through the maze of book displays at NCTE, and I remember stopping to leaf through it even though I had promised myself that since I had already bought too many books already and blown the book budget, I would absolutely NOT buy this book.  It took just one page to break that promise, for how could I resist the glorious story of how Flannery O’Connor came to add to her collection of birds (it was news to me that O’Connor even collected birds – lots of them – when she was a young girl) with a peacock?  Unfortunately, this is a peacock who refuses to preen, until O’Connor wakes up in the middle of the night with a solution:

king-of-the-birds-2

This is the perfect book to share with my students on a bleak winter day when they are tired of school and everything about school and need a jolt of color and diversion.

Georgia Congressman John Lewis led the iconic march across the Edmund Pettus Bridge  in Selma, Alabama and has continued to lead us in our march towards a more just society. His story is now also told in a three volume graphic novel, which is a wonderful way to keep it alive and part of the conversation in classrooms.  One of my favorite anecdotes from March was the one about how Lewis discovered his love and gift for preaching, which is the basis of Jabari Asim’s new picture book Preaching To The Chickens:

preachig-to-the-chickens

Jabari Asim’s poetic telling of Lewis’ story resonates because we know the great work that was to come from this humble beginning:

Like the ministers he heard in church, John wanted to preach, so he gathered his chickens in the yard.

John stretched his arms above his flock and let the words pour forth.  The chickens nodded and dipped their beaks as if they agreed.  They swayed to the rhythm of his voice.

John’s henhouse sermons became so regular that his brother and sisters took to calling him Preacher.  He didn’t mind.  He knew that someday he’d speak before thousands. He hoped that his words would stir people’s souls and move them to action.

E.B. Lewis’ exquisite paintings allow the reader to linger and savor the power of this story all the more:

preaching-to-the-chickens-1

I had heard so many amazing things about Jason Reynolds’ Ghost, that I knew I would love it…and did.

ghost.jpeg

Castle Cranshaw prefers to be known as “Ghost”, on account of his amazing ability to run, and run fast.  Ghost does not see himself as a team player for any sport, not even basketball (which he loves). That’s just not who he thinks he is, a team player.  But then he comes across a track team led by a cab driving coach who seems more than just a cab driving coach.  And, as he is drawn into the team and its ethos, he comes to learn about himself, about the anger that boils up inside him when he thinks of his father, and how he came to be so fast in the first place – running away from his father.

Ghost is one of those rare books that one reads and connects to on so many deep and important levels: it’s a story about discovering one’s true self, and about confronting one’s darkest secrets; but it’s also a story about perseverance and having faith, and how important it is for children to have adults in their lives who can nurture their desire to persevere and to have faith in people.

Late in the story, coach tells Ghost, “…you can’t run away from who you are, but what you can do is run toward who you want to be.”   Ghost is a powerful reminder that our kids need adults in their lives who can help point them towards what they want to be.

21 thoughts on “#IMWAYR:The King of the Birds, Preaching To The Chickens, & Ghost

  1. Thanks for this review. Makes me glad I am reagin Ghost to my students. Love the illustrations of the John Lewis book. Putting it on my list.

  2. Damn you. I just ordered all three. They look fantastic. Your reviews tend to leave me breathless. Thank you for taking the time and being willing to share.

  3. I really loved Ghost. I listened to it on audio last year and am now a big fan of Reynolds’ work. I’m going to try to get some of his other material read in 2017. Happy New Year and enjoy your reading!

  4. I read Ghost last night and took a picture of the quote; the same quote stood out to me. I like how you recognized the importance of supportive adults in the lives of teens. Great YA fiction always has a takeaway for us, too.

    Also, I love the way Reynolds begins the novel–what a great first line, “CHECK THIS OUT. This dude named Andrew Dahl holds the record for blowing up the most balloons…with his nose. Yeah. That’s true. Not sure how he found out that was some kinda special talent, and I can’t imagine how much snot be in those balloons, but hey, it’s a thing and Andrew’s the best at it.”

  5. I loved Ghost, too, so much that connects to children growing up and wondering how to handle hard things with peers. Preaching To The Chickens is one I know about & will find, and I said today that I would be very picky about what I added to my list. Like you at NCTE, it looks like I need to find The King of the Birds. Thanks, Tara!

  6. I also loved Ghost–one of my favorites of 2016. Preaching to the Chickens is sitting in my library stack right now. I know I’ll get to it this week. I have already flipped through it to wonder over E.B. Lewis’s paintings. Wow! I didn’t know King of the Birds was about one of Flannery O’Connor’s peacocks. Now I REALLY want to read it!

  7. Oh Ghost. I LOVED this book. Loved, loved, loved. I can’t wait for the next in this series. So exciting to listen to Reynolds reading this book. Thanks for sharing it. Made me absolutely smile.

  8. If Jason Reynold’s writes it, I will read it. Seriously, that man can really write! I’ve heard of Preaching To The Chickens, but your review here has made me desperate to read it now. Happy reading in 2017!

  9. Preaching to the Chickens is new to me, but what a fantastic true story of perseverance and dedication. We always tell children that they can be and do whatever they want, but it’s so crucial that we provide them with inspiring stories of real mentors.

  10. Oh, Tara– you’ve added two new books to my list! Both of the picture book biographies look wonderful– and you do such a great job of “selling” them, too. I have already read Ghost, and love that book SO much! I credit Elisabeth Ellington with getting me hooked on Jason Reynolds, and am so glad he’s started writing for the middle grade age group. What a fabulous trio of books today! Thanks for sharing, and Happy New Year!

  11. I loved Ghost and am so thankful for kids who have coaches-teachers-adults in their lives. Such an important book for middle grade.

  12. I have a lot of love for Ghost and have ordered Preaching to the Chickens. I’ve heard wonderful things about that one.

  13. I own a copy of Preaching to the Chickens – and really looking forward to reading it. I have yet to read the three-volume graphic novel MARCH and really looking forward to it.

  14. I just ordered Preaching to the Chickens from my library. I could use some of that chasing-shadows-away magic of picture books, too!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

