#MustReadin2017

mustreadin2017

When I first read Carrie Gelson’s invitation to share a list of must reads for the new year, I was skeptical.  After all, I have stacks of books piled on either side of my desk – both at home and at school – and they are all calling out to me to pay attention to them: pick us up, already, and READ!

But, I loved the idea of thinking about those stacks of books in a more manageable way: books I must read, and books I would like to read.  Carrie’s invitation was to include books I wanted to read as a teacher, and also books I was interested in just for myself which addressed topics outside of my teaching life.   And so, here they are, my compilation of books I must read, in no particular order:

picmonkey-collage

Carrie has suggested the following check-in dates, as well, which I love…I can mark them on my calendar as another reminder to keep my reading life fresh, and goal driven:

Spring update: Thursday April 6th, 2017

Fall update: Thursday September 7th, 2017

Year end update: Thursday December 28th, 2017

Thanks, Carrie. Now, to check out what others have on their #MustReadIn2017 lists!

16 thoughts on “#MustReadin2017

  1. Tara, I’m so honored that Stone Mirrors is on your list. Thank you! And some other favorites and must reads. One Last Word is great to pick up, think about, and let rest for a bit. I want to read Lab Girl Again! There’s poetry in there, too. I will tell you that Commonwealth started slowly for me, but because Ann Patchett I hung in, and about a quarter way through it sped along. So good to read with you!

  2. I love seeing your must haves. I’m doing it a bit differently this year, but I think I’ll do some must haves as well. I’m reading Counting Thyme now and loving it.

  3. I have The Indoing Project in the wings and am half through Lab Girl. I finished Evicted today and recommend it to all teachers. I read Hillbilly Elegy in December and plan to read Commonwealth this summer. I love Ann Pstchett.

    I want to read more picture books that include bibliographies at the end, as wellasmire philosophical picture books.

    I need to find YA that is smart in its syntactical structures and will continue reading the HP books. I’m half through #3.

  4. Hi Tara! I got When Friendship Followed Me Home for our foster daughter. I’m not sure she is going to read it, but I know I want to. We have some similar titles (although I still need to write my post). Happy reading. It will be fun to check in periodically!

  5. I loved Wish and Garvey’s Choice – both books with lovely characters just wanting a parent’s love! I have heard so much about When Friendship Followed Me Home that I think I need that one! That is the one bad thing about reading all of these lists – my piles keep bigger and I need more boxes! Happy Reading!

  6. When Friendship Followed Me Home is great. Wish was one of my favorite reads from last year. I just read The Hillbilly Elegy over the holiday break. It is one of those books that give you something to think about. Commonwealth is one that I want to read. It was a very long time ago when I read one of her others, Bel Canto and I loved it.

  7. I want to read Hillbilly Elegy too, but kept my list to those I already own. I know I’ll get to it, though. I enjoyed Wish and Garvey’s Choice too, like Lisa. You may like the later partly for discussions about bullies and keeping true to self. Thanks, Tara!

  8. Pingback: #MustReadin2017 | There's a Book for That

  9. Commonwealth didn’t make my short list this year, but I’ve seen it on so many lists today that I put a reserve on it as an audiobook from my library. This is just part of the joy of being part of this group. Counting Thyme is on my list and I’m glad to read from Kimberly that it is good.

  10. Tara,
    You were the first person that brought my attention to this challenge for 2017. I knew it was just what I needed. Stopping by again today, I’ve added four books to my Goodreads as I read. This is going to be dangerous. Happy 2017!

    Thank you for continually inspiring me.
    Cathy

  11. Making my reading life public is a great thing for me. Choosing the books is the most challenging because I’m constantly finding new titles. I know this a wonderful dilemma in my reading life. On a side note, When Friendship Following me Home was my #1 choice from my summer reading list.

  12. Booked! That is a book my family has been circling every time we go to the book store. I am making a Goodreads list based on books I’m finding from this opportunity. I’ve added Booked!

  13. I see The Undoing Project is on your list. There was a great podcast released January 5th from Freakonomics Radio, titled The Men Who Started a Thinking Revolution. It’s an interview with the author, Michael Lewis, and he gives fabulous insights into the subjects of the book, Amos Tversky and Danny Kahneman. Worth a listen!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

