#celebratelu:Conversations about kindness

celebratesquare-image

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get.

We had a great week in Room 202:our Mock Caldecott unit  was a wonderful experience, and we are inching our way towards learning the purpose and process of revision as we work to improve our feature articles.

But, when I ruminate over what I want to celebrate this teaching week, my thoughts come to rest on Friday, and our once a week exploration of “Stories From Our World”, and these two podcasts in particular:

Both were stories about kindness, unexpected and spontaneous kindness, the type of kindness that springs from doing the right thing because it is the right thing to do…not because you are being watched and expect praise, and not because your kindness will have any reward other than knowing it was the right thing to do.

We have been talking all year about this sort of kindness.  We’ve looked for it in the books we read.  We practice it in the way we treat each other as we make our way through the learning day.  We watch for it in those around us, so that we may emulate what we admire.  We pay attention to its absence and ask questions why.

But, there was something about these two stories on Friday that seemed bring all of the work above together in one beautiful conversation.  My students heard these stories, and reflected about  the meaning of this version of kindness; they talked about how transformative  such acts of compassion can be, and how little they require of us, really, other than the imagination to be open to someone else’s needs.

It was a lovely conversation, one worthy of celebration.  Today, I celebrate my students and the way they have opened their hearts to kindness.

Image result for martin luther king jr quote about kindness

16 thoughts on “#celebratelu:Conversations about kindness

  1. Two beautiful stories! What a discussion that must have been! Your final image and question will live inside me as I look to discover what else I can do for others.

  2. My kids have seen the Ron Ruiz story but not the one about Willie and Yelitza. Can’t wait to share that one. We all need these stories to remember the power we possess to lift each other and in the process, lift ourselves. Thanks, Tara, for sharing your classroom magic.

  3. love, love this…I didn’t even know story corps was still around…Kind is one of the sweetest and best words to teach about and glad that teacher all over do this day after day, week after week, year after year. xo

  4. I’m glad to hear about your week’s end, the icing on the cake. When kindness abounds, the other things fall together so well, those other “school things”. It is good to keep kindness at the fore.

  5. I love Story Corps and now I will be checking out these two podcasts. You are doing such important work with your students. They are so lucky to have you for a teacher. You are instilling in them so many important life lessons.

  6. You continue to make a difference in the lives of those you teach by planting this little seed called kindness. It will grow to be a grand tree for all to enjoy.

  7. Thank you for sharing these podcasts, I have something to explore and I love that at the end of a busy week you chose kindness to celebrate.

  8. Yes. A hundred times yes. It’s the small, everyday acts of kindness, compassion and empathy that keep the world going round. I loved what you said about how little kindness can really ask of us, beyond an open mind and a willingness to act. Let’s all make kindness second nature.

  9. Thanks you for sharing! On a day that a group of us got together to “act” (sign petitions, join organizations, donate to causes, etc.) your post reminds me of the other things I can do! I will share this!

  10. What wonderful stories you shared, Tara. I am so glad that I read them at the end of MLK, Jr. Day. It helps me believe that there is hope for humanity. Kindness allows for all of us going the extra mile.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

