Slice of Life Tuesday: Why I marched

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Two Writing Teachers

screen-shot-2017-01-23-at-7-27-04-pm

We arrived early for the Women’s March on NYC, thinking we had plenty of time to have a cup of coffee, meet up with our children, and then make our way to Dag Hammarskjold Plaza so that we could be there for our scheduled 12:45 march time.  After all, we were advised to: “Please follow the start times listed. Dag Hammarskjold Plaza cannot hold all of us, so staggered start times keep everyone moving instead of waiting. “

When we rounded the corner of First Avenue and 46th. Street, however, we were greeted by a sea of people  already several thousand strong.  Young and old, some in wheel chairs and some on the broad shoulders of their mothers and fathers, many wearing pink hats, and all carrying signs, there we stood…shoulder to shoulder.

img_6895

It was hours before we marched, and hours while we marched.  The going was slow, but no one seemed to mind.  We sang, we chanted, we raised our voices and felt the power of our collective sound.    We passed the hours chatting with those around us, learning their stories and sharing ours.  Sometimes a wave of cheers would roll through the crowd, and suddenly the long trek ahead seemed not so long.

Sometimes, it was enough just to read the signs all around us, and marvel at their creativity and sense of humor:

img_6883

 or power to inspire:

At one point, while we stood at the crest of  42nd. Street and paused to take in the view – a river of humanity wending its peaceful, joyous, purposeful way.

Why did I march?

Because I needed to remind myself that we are a hopeful and compassionate nation.

Because I believe in the need to fight climate change, guarantee healthcare, and provide great public education for all our children.

Because I reject racism, misogyny, xenophobia and homophobia.

Because I know the historical implications of “America First” and I reject those ideas, too.

Because I needed to be surrounded by people who believe at their very core as I do, that we simply cannot turn the clock back on all the progress we’ve made over these last eight years towards being a more just and compassionate nation.

So, I marched.  And now, hope restored, I turn to doing the work .

Yes, we can.

Yes, we did.

Yes, we will.

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 7.20.03 PM.png

 

 

21 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Why I marched

  1. Yes, yes, yes! I didn’t march but was there in spirit. What an amzing turnout. The headline from the Toronto Star on Sunday was “SHE the people” – full page dedicated to photo as well! Great post Tara.

  2. What a wonderful experience that must have been! I was amazed when I saw all the different places the women’s march was being held. All 7 continents! Amazing!! Thanks for standing up for what is right!

  3. I did not march but sat with my granddaughters and other of my daughter’s friends’ children so they could all march together. What an incredible day! Thank you for being there, Tara. All we can do is keep it up!

  4. Thank you for marching and posting about it. I felt very alone out here in the LI suburbs, but couldn’t join you because I can no longer stand for long or walk very far. I actually felt a little depressed. But my husband marched with you in NYC, and my son and daughter-in-law marched in D.C. (giving up an entire weekend to get there and back from Brooklyn), so I felt good that our family is still so supportive of all the causes women are still fighting for. I plan to make phone calls, show up at local events and pitch in where I can. Loved the photos, too!!!

  5. I love how you summarize such important points. It feels amazing to know that as we marched, women, men and children marched across the globe. Wow.

  6. Thank you for sharing your post. I love hearing the “why” behind people’s decision. It brings more meaning to the day and a greater chance of the march being more than one day.
    Happy Birthday!
    Clare

  7. There were so many powerful signs to be read on Saturday. But the most common theme was one of decency, human compassion, and love for everyone. Keep the momentum going!

  8. I’ve been waiting for your post-march blog, Tara. Your descriptions allowed me to feel the pulse beat of the crowd and be inspired. There is hope in the mantra, Yes We Can! Thank you for doing and believing that YES We Will move forward toward unity.

  9. Good for you! I love the pictures you shared and I’ve been having so much fun looking at pictures of signs from all around on the internet. Such creativity and such power!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

