#IMWAYR It’s Monday and here’s what I’m reading: Scar Island by Dan Gemeinhart

imwayr-2015-1-1

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA! is hosted by Jen Vincent  @Teach Mentor Texts & Kellee Moye @ Unleashing Readers.

Truth to tell, I was afraid to read Dan Gemeinhart’s new book Scar Island.  Both his previous books, The Honest Truth and Some Kind of Courage, were wonderful reads, and I feared that (perhaps) this third book would fail to live up expectations.  Thankfully, I was wrong.

22209-scarisland

Here’s the jacket copy:

Jonathan Grisby is the newest arrival at the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys, an ancient, crumbling fortress of gray stone rising up from the ocean. It is dark, damp, and dismal. And it is just the place Jonathan figures he deserves. Because Jonathan has done something terrible. And he’s willing to accept whatever punishment he has coming. Just as he’s getting used to his new situation, however, a freak accident leaves the troubled boys of Slabhenge without any adult supervision. Suddenly the kids are free, with an entire island to themselves. But freedom brings unexpected danger. And if Jonathan can’t come to terms with the sins of his past and lead his new friends to safety, then every boy on the island is doomed.

Gemeinhart is able to create Slabhenge in such vivid detail that it becomes another compelling character in a cast filled with compelling characters.  I was completely transported to this place, ghastly and troubling though it was, and I know that my sixth graders would be even more drawn to imagining its storm tossed walls and mysterious nooks and crannies.  One of the literary elements my students have focused on this year has been the way in which setting influences story, and Scar Island is the perfect book through which to explore this idea.

Jonathan’s “crime” and the way in which this is revealed makes for the heart of this story, Gemeinhart creates the kind of edge-of-your-seat tension that my sixth graders will love. But, Scar Island  is also a story about how to stand up to bullies, and how fear and peer pressure can get in the way of even the nicest kid’s best intentions.  Scar Island has a touch of Lord of the Flies, which is a good thing for our kids, they need to be reminded of these lessons time and time again.  

I have a long list of students clamoring for this book, and I know that each will say: Dan Gemeinhart has done it again! And  I wholeheartedly agree.

 

 

9 thoughts on “#IMWAYR It’s Monday and here’s what I’m reading: Scar Island by Dan Gemeinhart

  1. I’m also a Gemeinhart fan. I loved both of his previous books, but was uncomfortable with the scene with the Native Americans in Some Kind of Courage. Debbie Reese talks more about this, and I see her point, but it’s still such a great read.

  2. I hope to start this book later in the week, and was happy to hear that you enjoyed it. I have a lot of fans of his work too. His Youtube channel is a good resource for people reading his first two novels. I haven’t checked for information about Scar Island yet though. Thanks for the post!

  3. Our middle school is using The Honest Truth as our community read this month! He is a great author. He even did a promo video for our students to watch.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

