Poetry Friday:Infinity by Barbara Crooker

Poetry Friday is hosted by Jone at Check it Out

ridgewood_snow_storm_theridgewoodblog-net_-12

I am done with winter.

No longer will I talk of the beauty of snow as it falls and transforms our neighborhood into a Currier and Ives painting.  No longer will I speak of warm-by-the-fireside coziness, or of the pleasure of being bundled up in favorite sweaters or lacing up fur lined boots.  No longer will I think it charming to walk by children adding  final touches to their front yard snowmen.

I am done with snow every where, and cold all the time. I am done with the tiresome ritual of hat-mittens-scarf-boots-coat just to take out the trash or walk the dog.  I am done with snow melting into sloshy rivulets at every turn during the day and freezing into ice banks at night.  I am done with a cold and cough that will not seem to end.

But, it’s February…and winter is not done with me.

Feeling gloomy the other day, I turned to poetry and found this one by Barbara Crooker.  It captured exactly the weariness I felt about winter:

INFINITY

Another gray day, snow everywhere, the piles at the margins
deckled with grit. No sun, again. In the backyard,
crows are passing rumors one rough syllable
at a time. Spring is a language from another
country. Green is a vocabulary word on a flash
card. Crocus and daffodils, impossible constructs.
This is all there is: sky, the color of snow. Snow,
the color of sky. Every day, a few more inches
deposited in the bank. Accumulation takes on
sinister undertones. Finches cluster sullenly
at the feeders, won’t trade their shabby
cardigans for something yellow and silky.
The mind of winter is white and interior.
Silence fills the shadows. The sky lowers,
and look, more snow’s beginning to fall.

~Barbara Crooker

23 thoughts on “Poetry Friday:Infinity by Barbara Crooker

  1. “This is all there is: sky, the color of snow. Snow,
    the color of sky.”

    Indeed, another 3″ were added to the pile overnight. I hate snow!

  2. Barbara Crooker is one of my favorites for saying it just. like. it. is. and yet so eloquently. I’m sorry your winter and your cold are wearing out their welcome. I know just how you feel.

  3. We’ve had too much rain, today was a welcome respite, no rain & the sun even peeked out a bit. Our monthly norm is 3.5 inches and we’ve already had 7.12 inches and the month is only half over. I awoke last night to pounding rain and crashing wind. Somehow, the quiet of snow sounds more appealing. But that’s because it’s so rare for us. Love these words from Crooker’s poem: “Spring is a language from another country.”

  4. Barbara captures winter weariness perfectly. I felt this way last January — this year has been an entirely different story with its lack of snow. Not complaining, but I can commiserate.

  5. She is a favorite poet! Don’t be mad, but we are not having enough of these days at all. The mountains, yes, Denver area: warmth-setting records. Bulb tips are emerging. If we don’t have moisture soon I will have to drag out the hose to water! What a juxtaposition of winter days. The poem is wonderful, however, says it just right as Crooker does.

  6. I thought your introduction WAS the poem….and, it really is a prose poem. I like it at least as much as Crooker’s poem. I’m wishing you some sun and blue sky and a nice park bench…..or, a free trip to a place with a beach and drinks with little umbrellas. Have a great week. Thank you for the beautiful words.

  7. Great crafting, Tara, from your first line “I am done with winter” to your last line, “winter is not done with me” Your use of parallelism and the power of three–in the paragraph 1, “No longer will I…” and in paragraph 2, “I am done with…” gives strength to every sentence. Definitely a prose poem that begs to be read aloud. I like Crooker’s poem too. 🙂

  8. I love this poem, Tara, and I hear what you are saying. I am still holding out for peaceful reflections on the positive side of winter. I would like to see another color in the sky other than gray though. Spring is a language from another
    country. Green is a vocabulary word on a flash
    card.
    These lines made me laugh so your post brought joy. Perhaps, spring will come sooner than we think.

  9. I’m not used to hearing your voice in such an unrelenting rant! I’m sending you a whole deck of flashcards with GREEN written on every single one! Are you coming for DubLit next weekend? Winter has passed us by. Iris are poking green spears up. Buds on trees are swelling. Come bolster your hope!

    • I wish I was going to be at DubLit, but too sick to travel at the moment. I will be there in spirit, though, and remembering last year and being with all of you in that wonderful place!

  10. Crooker’s poem gets the gray of mid-winter exactly right. Your opening paragraphs, though, are poetry in their own right. I know those “sloshy rivulets” and am done with them, too. Feel better, Tara! Spring will be here soon!

  11. And we haven’t had one single hard freeze this year! Too bad we can’t even the weather out a bit—a little more here, a little less there. I’m not sure I can think of a better way to spend a cold morning, though, than with an afghan on my legs, a cup of cocoa in hand, and Barbara Crooker’s poetry in my lap. Feel better, Tara!

  12. I too, thought your intro so very poetic! Bridget and Kiesha “took” my favorite lines from the poem – wow.

    I wish I could send you some of my coastal lowcountry weather – feeling lucky down here. High today will flirt with 70; I have the front door cracked. Hope you feel better soon!

  13. I know the feeling expressed by you and the poem. There is the threat of snow here later in the week but hopefully it will stay away. Need daffodils and the songs of robins.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

