#SOLC17:Resurrecting a writing life…

The Slice of Life March Writing Challenge @ Two Writing Teachers – 31 days of  a writing community.

Last night, as I was in the throes of wrestling whether to write for the March Challenge or NOT to write, my dear friend Margaret Simon shared words of encouragement and advice. Somewhere in her message, she mentioned the  “resurrection fern”.  Her description intrigued me so much that I had to immediately Google this fern and learn all about it. 

The National Wildlife Federation describes it this way:

This remarkable plant can lose about 75 percent of its water content during a typical dry period and possibly up to 97 percent in an extreme drought. During this time, it shrivels up to a grayish brown clump of leaves. When it is exposed to water again, it will “come back to life” and look green and healthy. The plant gets its name from this supposed “resurrection,” but it never actually dies during the process.

I loved this part:

Habitat: Due to its ability to withstand drought, it can be found in variety of habitats, but it needs a host plant or other substrate on which to anchor. Resurrection fern often favors oak trees.

And here is what it looks like,  growing within the embrace of an oak tree:

Image result for resurrection fern

What does the resurrection fern have to do with writing all March long?  Well, a lot, especially if one views the fern as a metaphor for my writing life, any writing life, really. Drought is a season most writers know all too well, it’s a season of struggling with what to say, how to say it, and whether one has the will to see the struggle through at all.  Drought is my writing season at the moment.

The more I reflected upon Margaret’s message, the more I returned to this line:”it needs a host plant or other substrate on which to anchor”. This writing community is just such an anchor; it is our oak tree.  Arriving to it, no matter how parched and hopeless I may feel about my writing self, I find the sustenance and  encouragement I need to revive…bit by bit.  The Slice of Life is my oak tree, as I suspect it is for others in this writing community, too.  How fortunate we are!

Let #SOL17 writing challenge begin!

 

 

29 thoughts on “#SOLC17:Resurrecting a writing life…

  1. Beautifully put. For too long I have experienced that writing drought – not so much in SOL, but in my novel and pb writing. Loved the metaphor and the truth behind it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a beautiful post! I was wrestling with the same question–to slice or not to slice–as late as this morning! Just couldn’t quite commit. Then I started reading and commenting on posts and decided I had to be in. I am also in one of those drought seasons with my writing life. I appreciate this metaphor for thinking through it, understanding, making peace. Drought is part of the process. We can always begin again.

  3. I’m glad you chose to slice Tara, you inspire me as a teacher and a writer. It wouldn’t be the same without you. Have a wonderful writing month being drenched and refreshed in the writing pool. 🙂

  4. Well first, I am glad you are participating as I learn when I read your posts. I thin the metaphor works well and speak to the sense of resiliency you have. Dry periods are difficult and humbling and ultimately makes us better teachers and I suspect, better people.

  5. So nice to learn that you are going to return to be here with us again, Tara. I know I, and many others, would miss you if you hadn’t discovered that special fern from Margaret.

  6. Man, you’re good. Even when you’re feeling 75% dried up, you’re better than most. I’m lucky you’re mine Off to write mine own post.

  7. My heart gave a small gasp at the thought that you wouldn’t be here. Thankfully the rhythm has settled back because you will write. You don’t know how much people depend on your words to help them get to the next day. What an interesting plant!

  8. Tara, I’m happy you decided to write also–although I understand the deliberation. The last couple of years I have wavered right up until the last moment when it came to writing for the month. But when it comes down to it, where would we be in March if not writing?

  9. “This writing community is just such an anchor; it is our oak tree.” Love this line – and so glad you are writing with us again this year! I love hearing your voice in this forest of words! Happy writing!

  10. It just wouldn’t be the same without you. I have appreciated your contributions so much since I began slicing as well as your comments on my own writing. I loved your story and am delighted to learn about the resurrection fern. Besides…this oak needs your support!

  11. I SO SO SO SO understand as I too have been in a drought…of sadness,,,,and of trying to survive loss…and yet suddenly, tonight…I feel very very alive…and like my words matter….YOUR words matter…I am so glad you are here!

  12. Tara, what an apt analogy. This call, we respond to, this challenge, we accept is indeed a compelling force calling to us to come join. Your strong writing voice is both valued and needed. Glad you have in this space, in this writing community for another month of writing revelations.

  13. So happy you decided to join us again! What a fitting analogy for our writing lives. This community is the oak tree and the rain that keeps us going for thirty more days!

  14. Yes. A writing drought. Seems like many of us are in this. Or feel it. Or worry about it happening. But you are so very right – this very community provides the nourishment and gives to all of us. Thank you for your words today.

  15. As others said, so glad you are here! I loved all that I learned about plants from your post and then it became the perfect analogy! This is truly our oak tree! So glad we have settled in together for this month of March!

  16. I know exactly how you feel! As others have said, the resurrection fern is a perfect metaphor for this month of writing. I’m so glad you’re here, Tara. This community wouldn’t be the same without you!

  17. So much to learn. About ourselves and each other. I am grateful for the community as a host. And as so many have said in one way or another, so happy you are here.

  18. Wow, Tara, what an analogy. Beautiful words to start the month. I think this little writing thing will be good for your writing soul and that fern. Happy to be on this journey another year with you – happy writing!

  19. This writing community is just such an anchor; it is our oak tree.

    I love that! And I feel exactly the same. Looking forward to catching up with you this month, Tara! Thanks for this great image for our writing community!

  20. Pingback: SOLC #2 Spiritual Journey Connections | Reflections on the Teche

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

