#SOLC17: When lovely beckoned…

The Slice of Life March Writing Challenge @ Two Writing Teachers – 31 days of  a writing community.

2008 was a tricky year, it was actually (unbeknownst to me at the time, thank goodness) the opening salvo to a series of tricky years.  Sometime in the Fall of that year, scrolling through YouTube in search of videos for a lesson plan, I discovered Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s The Beckoning of Lovely.

I remember that it was very late at night, that the clocks had already moved into the next day.  It was hard to focus on the lesson planning at hand, and I found myself thinking in circles, spiralling from one concern to the next in an ever tightening loop of despair and confusion.

Then, lovely beckoned:

Something within in me found comfort instantly.  Perhaps it was the fact that everyone else gathering at “the bean” shared the same yearning for something lovely that I was feeling at that moment.  Perhaps it was that although they gathered, they were uncertain about what they were gathering for: we don’t always know what we need, do we? Sometimes it’s just about showing up and hoping to be shown the way.  Perhaps it was that gentle spirit of being open and welcoming the gifts of the moment – each person who gathered was grateful to be there, and willing to participate with childlike trust and joy. Or, perhaps it was Amy herself, the embodiment of lovely, orchestrating this collective of spirits in a celebration of lovely.

Whatever it was that first drew me in, I found myself returning to The Beckoning of Lovely time and time again.  Each time, I felt my spirit settling into peace, I found myself a bit more ready to receive whatever was coming my way with great equanimity.   That was the gift of lovely, Amy’s gift.  It saved me.

Time marches on, as they say, and life settled down.  It’s been a while since I had watched that magical gathering, until I read Amy’s New York Times article, wept, and felt that I needed to watch it again…and again.

 

The world is full of selfish, useless to anyone else people – and then there are beautiful souls who remind us of what it means to be good, to beckon the lovely every day.  Thank you, Amy Krouse Rosenthal, thank you.

IMG_7180 2.JPG

25 thoughts on “#SOLC17: When lovely beckoned…

  1. This is lovely, Tara. Sometimes life becomes so very full. It helps to find those small moments of beauty to help us recenter. I watched Amy’s video yesterday for the first time. I had always enjoyed her books, but until the essay about her husband, and then this video, then a TED talk, I had no idea of the amazing depth and complexity of her spirit.

  2. She entranced me from the first time I discovered her books and videos. She was a unique spirit. My heart aches with the thought that she has left our planet. I attended an event where she spoke and had her signing several of my books. I will treasure them.

  3. This post brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing the video and the beautiful quotes. Thank you for highlighting the beautiful, the good that Amy brought to us.

  4. This was such a powerful post, such a powerful video. I am brought to tears. It demonstrates what is possible in the purist sense. Thank you. My heart aches and is full at the same time.

  5. I did not know of this video although I had read the NYTimes post and so I guess Amy was on my mind when I used Amy Rosenthal’s work, I Wish You More, as a mentor text. She was on my thoughts yesterday as I drafted a snow day post honoring her format. Her loss is profound. Her legacy will , however, live on.

  6. I didn’t know anything about Amy until yesterday’s post which informed me about her final column (essay?). That was all I needed to know she was a remarkable, warm, funny, intelligent, creative, LOVELY person. I need to catch up and see that video and read more of her writing. Another bright light extinguished, but her impact clearly lives on in all of you who “knew” her.

  7. I went to watch the 1st video & ended up watching all the way through to 11/11/11. Oh, the perils of being retired and getting sidetracked. I’ve loved Amy’s books, but was totally unaware of these videos. Thank you for beckoning me to lovely today and the remembrance of one of the “…beautiful souls who remind us of what it means to be good, to beckon the lovely every day.”

  8. Thank you for sharing your personal love of AKR and all she stood for. It’s comforting to see all the Slicer’s memories… what a loss, but also, WHAT A LIFE. She’s left us so much.

  9. You wrote this for all of us, I think, Tara. I watched again yesterday. It makes me feel so good to see all those people who came to make something lovely, to make good in our world. Thanks for your sweet post in Amy’s honor.

  10. I have had to spread out the Amy posts — so overwhelming. It is amazing how far her reach extended – too so many in so many ways. Thank you for sharing and honoring Amy today.
    Clare

  11. Beautiful post – powerful and poignant. She was a bright light on our planet and has lit that light within many a soul. AKR will live on in these gentle spirits and the work they do to honor her memory (as you’ve done). Thank you.

  12. I remember watching this, but I can’t bring myself to watch it again. I’m so sad over the loss of Amy, such a bright light in our world. What will you do with your one wild life? She is my hero!

  13. I have loved Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s work since I first discovered it years ago. Such a devastating loss! The quote you’ve shared is a clarion call to carry on her work and fill the world with love and beauty.

  14. Pingback: Day 15: Finding our Yellow Umbrellas – To Read To Write To Be

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

