Poetry Friday: Poems from “Soul Food”

Poetry Friday is hosted by JoAnn at Teaching Authors

Thursday is usually poetry day in my sixth grade classroom (here’s a post about what that looks like), but the PARCC test got in the way of our usual routine this week. Thursday without poetry just did not feel right, and I was feeling the absence of our usual unpacking of and delight in poetry when I arrived home.

Waiting for me in my mailbox was this lovely book, a thoughtful gift from my friend Kimberley:

FullSizeRender 23

Somehow, she must have intuited my need for nourishing words on this cloudy, poetry-less day, and somehow luck delivered it at exactly the right moment.

I made myself a cup of green tea, found the right spot on my favorite reading chair, and immersed myself in poetry.  First, I came upon an old favorite:

FullSizeRender 26

and then I discovered a new favorite:

FullSizeRender 27

Finally, Thursday felt like Thursday again

16 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Poems from “Soul Food”

  1. Poetry, a cup of tea, and a favorite reading chair – definitely a delighful way to spend an evening! I recently discovered Let Evening Come in a book of Jane Kenyon poetry (a poet you led me to). It’s brought such comfort. I need to check out Soul Food.

  2. I am always pleased when serendipity happens. It’s a lovely surprise for you missing poetry on Thursday. I love the poems you chose to share, Tara. Enjoy that book on Friday, too!

  3. Wow, that looks like such a lovely book. Thanks for sharing these poems. Both of them definitely deserve the word “nourishing.” Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

  4. Darn that PARCC nonsense! I agree, though, about feeling off kilter without your poetry time. For me it’s when, for whatever reason, Writer’s Workshop can’t happen. I feel off for the whole day, and so do my Kindergarten students. That sacred time grounds all of us. Thank you for the tip off about Soul Food. Will have to explore it! Cheers!

  5. We are also in the midst of disruption by testing. It is so unsettling! Like Julieanne, these lines spoke to me: “something that will not acknowledge conclusion/insists that we forever begin.” Thank you for sharing these beauties, Tara.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

