Poetry Friday: All In A Day by Cynthia Rylant

Poetry Friday is hosted by Jama at Jama’s Alphabet Soup 

It’s a yucky-mucky day here in Northern New Jersey, with torrents of rain and the kind of clammy cold that chills you to the bone.  Everyone in my house is under the weather, including our four legged members, whose job it usually is to cheer us up on precisely such days.  Happily, it is also Poetry Friday – so I have much to look forward to as I make the round-up rounds.  I had it mind to share a morose and bedraggled sounding poem which would match my mood, but thought better of it and reached for a golden ray of Cynthia Rylant positivity…

…accompanied by Nikki McClure’s gorgeous illustrations from the book of the same name…

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 11.50.12 AMScreen Shot 2017-05-05 at 11.49.59 AMScreen Shot 2017-05-05 at 11.49.39 AM

All In A Day by Cynthia Rylant

A day is a perfect piece of time
to live a life,
to plant a seed,
to watch the sun go by.
A day starts early,
work to do,
beneath a brand-new sky.
A day brings hope
and kindness, too…
a day is all its own.
You can make a wish,
and start again,
you can find your way back home.
Every bird and every tree
and every living thing
loves the promise in a day,
loves what it can bring. (Gorgeous page!)
There is a faith in morningtime,
there is belief in noon.
Evening will come whispering
and shine a bright round moon.
A day can change just everything,
given half a chance.
Rain could show up at our door
and teach you how to dance.
The past is sailing off to sea,
the future’s fast asleep.
A day is all you have to be,
it’s all you get to keep.
Underneath that great big sky
the earth is all a-spin.
This day will soon be over
and it won’t come back again.
So live it well, make it count,
fill it up with you.
The day’s all yours, its waiting now…
See what you can do.

14 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: All In A Day by Cynthia Rylant

  1. I have this, and along with the newer “The Day Is Waiting”, love the positive outlook. Perks me up,Tara. Thanks, glad you’ve shared!

  2. I love both Rylant and McClure, but haven’t seen this book yet. The sunny yellow illustrations brightened my mood and I LOVE the poem. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Thanks for this beautiful blast from the past. Hope that its uplifting words are helping you and yours recover! (It would also help if the rain stopped and the sun came out, right?!?!)

  4. I think I should read this poem every day. Thanks for sharing and starting my Sunday off on the right foot.

  5. Oh, Tara, this is my first introduction to this lovely poem! I had to print it off to tuck into my writer’s notebook. And I love Nikki McClure’s illustrations – requesting the book now.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

