Poetry Friday: Heat by H.D.

Poetry Friday is hosted by  Kiesha at Whispers from the Ridge

summer haze

It was above 90 degrees today.My kids came in from recess sweaty, stinky, and s-l-o-w…as in “I’m fried from the sun and can’t be expected to think” s-l-o-w.

By the time I left school for home, the temperatures had soared to 96. Yikes!  My minivan, normally a lovely cocoon of quiet after a day of nothing but noise, was hot enough to roast a Thanksgiving turkey (or so it felt).  By the time the air conditioning made its presence known, I was already pulling into my driveway.

Every blade of grass seemed to be wilting, every flower drooping, every leaf curling into its own cool, green self.

It’s May, but it felt like August.  Late this evening, it still feels like August.  And I am not ready for August heat, quite yet.

Heat by H.D. (Hilda Doolittle )

O wind, rend open the heat,

cut apart the heat,
rend it to tatters.

Fruit cannot drop
through this thick air—
fruit cannot fall into heat
that presses up and blunts
the points of pears
and rounds the grapes.

Cut through the heat—
plough through it,
turning it on either side
of your path.

14 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Heat by H.D.

  1. Those first three lines. Love! Sorry for the heat wave… wishing you that cocoon of peace, wherever you many find it. xo

  2. WHAT?!?! 96 degrees in MAY? Oh my goodness, just thinking about those temperatures makes me feel sluggish, like I need to take an afternoon nap to escape from that “thick air”. We’re still wearing our winter coats here, it’s been unseasonably cold, perhaps you guys have taken some of our heat! 😉

  3. I saw Matt E. posting on FB & then Donna shared the temps. Hard to believe since we’ve had snow the past 2 days. I’m sitting under a favorite fleecy throw right now. Strange, strange winter/spring. Will “regular” expectations ever arrive? I’m glad you now have the weekend for perhaps a different weather break. Love “plough through it.” It seems that’s what we do in the summer heat!

  4. Oh dear, and it seems we were just bemoaning the chill of winter. (Here we still are, though it’s supposed to warm up this weekend–a treat as fine weather for our Victoria Day holiday is rare.) I sympathize, though. When heat comes, I am reminded of the very small range of temperature tolerance we’re comfortable with. Stay cool. Your poem choice is perfect for your weather.

  5. What a great poem….that word, “rend” it’s been poking at me for a while now. I loved seeing it here and being reminded that I need to respond to that urge to work with it. I hope you’ve had time to unwind from your week. It’s a tough time of year!

  6. That is some godawful heat! Even way down here, we haven’t seen that temperature yet. The poem is a perfect match. How do you do that? Find the just right poem? Like Linda, the word rend rolls around in my head. I also wish to call for the wind to break the heat and tatter it.

  7. Yes, we’ve had heat too and my minivan did feel like a roasting turkey. You made me laugh. I grew up in grape country and the heat doesn’t help the crops when it’s this early. Hopefully you’ve cooled down, we have and it feels quite chilly.

  8. Boy, your post made me wonder if you live here in Florida! Be glad that you don’t. We had an unusually dry and lovely spring, but are now officially in our hot and humid summer weather pattern. Hope you get some relief soon, Tara.

  9. Yikes! And to think there was snow recently along the front range in Colorado. Solace in the fact that cooler weather is on its way east to us!

  10. Perfect poem for a hot day, Tara. “Fruit cannot drop
    through this thick air.” Nothing wants to move!

    It’s been unseasonably cool here in Maryland, but I’m not complaining 🙂

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

